Hero On Orange not letting me sign in to google account


Last Updated:

  1. cthastings

    cthastings Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I just got a Hero from orange, everything is great, I can browse the internet, sync my exchange emails etc however whenever I try to sign in to my google account to use market, gmail etc it says that my sim is not provisioned for Data! Any clues greatly recieved!
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    You may have an old style SIM call your service provider ... and make sure your data account with the carrier matches up with your SIM IMEI ...
     
  3. chrisjenx

    chrisjenx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh i had this, when you get the text through from Orange saying that your service has been updated you will need to restart your phone and try again.

    If you still cant do it then you have to reset your phone back to factory defaults... very annoying I know but if you buy the data separately to the contract it takes a day for the data package to be provisioned on the sim even though you can use HSDPA and 3G.. Don't know why must be the way Google talks to there servers or something.
     
  4. cthastings

    cthastings Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much Chris, it now works after the total reset, HTC, Orange and Google could not work this out so huge Kudos to you.
     
  5. chrisjenx

    chrisjenx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL glad you got it working took alot of playing for me to work that out..

    I think Orange is to blame mostly as all Google Sync Traffic is blocked intill you have the data provisioned fully.


    Regards,
    Chris
     
  6. pedg

    pedg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I must say this is very annoying. Have just bought a white unlocked hero and to do anything google related e.g. login to google mail or access the apps store you need to login to your google account and I get this error. On the pay as you go via the bank option with virgin where you can have up to 25mb a day of data for 30p.

    Is there anything I can try and still stay on the same tariff (I only need net access on the mobile a few days a week and am already on virgin so seemed sensible to stay on the same tariff).
     
  7. cthastings

    cthastings Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as you do the initial log in over a data connection you can use the wifi for all future use, you need to do the factory reset followed by the sign up, I imagine that interaction would use 100kb?
     
  8. pedg

    pedg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is that I am not sure I can get the data connection to work before the initial signup as the hero picks up the tmobile access points not the virgin one. Someone elsewhere has suggested trying to get the wifi connection working before the initial setup so I am going to try that.
     
  9. pedg

    pedg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Success! Restarted at home in the vicinity this time of our wifi network and was able to register my google account okay.
     

Share This Page

Loading...