Hero soft button elimination


Last Updated:

  1. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know a way to eliminate the soft buttons on the home screen, so my wallpaper won't get cut off at the bottom?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Disable sense and run plain ole Android.
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    or, I believe you can add a theme that's clear so only the words would show up. That might require rooting though, not sure.
     
  4. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need to be rooted?
    How do I disable it?
    Do I just force stop in app manager?
    When stopped, can I go back and will all my settings still be there?
     
  5. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    go into manage applications. tap on htc sence. down the way tap the clear defaults and that will make vanilla android to load. if you hit home it will ask you what you want to have as your home. Sence or android, if you dont click the use as default on that screen it will ask you each time.
     
  6. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried what you suggested. Almost what I want. Is there a way to get rid of the box with arrow in it at the bottom. If I can do that, it will be perfect.
    If not, then close enough. Thanks.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Other then that, not that I'm aware of. Possibly if you root and get a custom Rom that does it but I haven't heard of any....
     
  8. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's what I thought. Thanks for your help.
     
  9. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    24
    try aHome, yes it cost a few bucks but it let you change the home screen, one of the settings makes the app bar transparent so it is not seen yet still there for a swipe up to open. www.mappn.com
     
  10. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds good. think I'll give that a try. Thanks.
     
  11. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    you can try pandahome. its free and supports ahome and other 3rd party themes as well
     
  12. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which version will work with 1.5
    As far as I can tell, only light will
     
  13. acp

    acp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    71
    by doing this, do you lose your current screen/widget/application setup that you put together on Sense?
     
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yes. You can save your scenes for when you reenable Sense.
     
  15. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Have you considered re-doing your wallpaper by adding a black, gradient or whatever strip along the bottom? It's easy enough with any image editing program I can think of. This will lose a little right & left but you'd be able to see the lowest edge of your image. Just a thought...
     
  16. rolue

    rolue Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I tried that, but I dont want to make the pic smaller and just want the full screen if I can.
     

Share This Page

Loading...