"Hero" style ROM!!


Last Updated:

  1. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46

    Advertisement
  2. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you tried it?

    Edit: I went through HDblog, they seem to be using a different install method, unless I'm misunderstanding something.

    If you do install it, I'd love to hear how you did it.
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I didnt get the time to try it. To use it you need to root your galaxy, put the update file on the internal sdcard, and then go into recovery. There you'll see an option to update using the update.zip from sdcard
     
  4. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's been updated to the H7 image. Just installed it. Will let you know how it runs.
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Oh sweet! I'm away for a while so no time to check it out :(
    Hopefully I'll come back to a major update!
     
  6. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, I had to install twice. The first time it just kept crashing. After the second install it seems pretty snappy. Slightly buggy, but a good upgrade overall. It's like having a Hero with an AMOLED screen and no stupid "chin".
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I descided to give it a shot :p

    I'm having major dificulties with that new 0.3 recovery image tho.

    If i upload the recovery.img and reboot into recovery mode it hangs. I can adb in and copy the rectools, but on next boot it still hangs.

    I untared the rectools manually into /sdcard/rectools/* and it booted into recovery but nandroid backup fails :-/

    Its very wierd!
     
  8. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Which recovery image are you using?
     
  10. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess I'm going to have to give this a look after work since they upped the firmware revision!

    I haven't tried recovery .3 yet by the way am still on .2.
     
  11. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Regular version 3.
     
  12. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    does it mean we're getting multitouch, flash, sense ui?
     
  13. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    no, yes, yes.

    I'll be back in 2 weeks, lots of traveling :)
     
  14. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    have a great holidays and try to post from there :)
     
  15. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks! I'll try!
     
  16. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    while you're still here, why is multitouch not included? Flash sounds enough for me though :)
     
  17. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    5 or 6 hours left :)

    I didnt get a chance to try it, so _maybe_ it works, but its unlikely. The Samsung driver only returns one set of finger coordinates.

    The Hero one returns two but the OS only uses 1. But the Hero widgets etc are able to see the other finger data and use it.

    The guy here receptorBlog was looking at updating the driver (we have the source) to get the second set of coordinates, but no progress yet.
     
  18. koy

    koy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you talking about this ROM?

    Because this "Hero" ROM only has a couple of new Widgets/Apps and a few GUI customizations, no Flash or multitouch, and it isn't the "real" Sense UI either, it's just a Theme :)
     
  19. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    is this one worth trying? the samsung rom is terrible, even H7 still keeps turning phone off every so in a while (1x per 2 days) - stuff like that fixed here?

    i don't really like the visuals of this custom rom but i'd take it if it's any better (performance)
     
  20. legendary1022

    legendary1022 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    After trying out that rom for a while, I went with the GalaxyLite ROM instead of the Hero. The Hero ROM is basically just a theme and slows the phone down (for me at least). The GalaxyLite ROM they have up there makes some performance fixes and runs pretty smoothly. Some things can be ironed out but its still early in the Samsung Galaxy custom ROMs.
     
  21. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you give a link to this galaxylite rom? thanks
     
  22. uffez

    uffez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I
     

Share This Page

Loading...