Hero Wont Update


Last Updated:

  1. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I have an orange branded HTC Hero. Softwre build number 1.76.61.3 146733.

    Ive tried to download both the generic and orange update from the HTC website but my serial number is not recognised (awaiting response from HTC).

    Ive downloaded both updates from elsewhere but when installing I get Error 135 Signature Error and says it is the incorrect ROM for my phone.

    Anyone else got these difficulties. Im tempted to try updating by rooting if I cant find a solution.

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    Can you confirm that your serial number is HTxxxxxxxxxx?

    I've a hunch that indicates a corrupt d/l. I suggest trying again, making sure that any real-time AV scanners are disabled temporarily during the d/l.

    Another user posted with the same problem but a fresh download worked for him. Your current build definitely indicates an Orange device so your serial won't be accepted for the generic HTC update. It should however allow you to download the Orange_UK update released on Saturday.

    Let me know how you get on.
     
  3. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, serial no is HTW1EU****** . Wont let me download Orange or generic from HTC website. Now re-downloading from XDA developers site. Will see what happens.

    Cheers
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    As I said, you won't be able to download (or install) the generic update but you should be able to get the Orange_UK okay. Weird....

    Fingers crossed..... good luck!
     
  5. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
  6. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm new download didnt seem to work, still cant download direct from HTC thought. Also my error was 132 as well (complete with dodgy spelling)
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    Same error or a bad download?

    Hmm. PM inbound.
     
  8. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same error message (132). Shall see if HTC get in touch tommorrow.
     
  9. mez

    mez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    19
    I hot in touch with HTC when I got the problem but it downloaded right away as soon as I got on a proper connection. Pm me I'll send you the version I got
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    Not using Vista by any chance are you? Another user reported seeing this error repeatedly but successfully installed the update under Win XP.
     
  11. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Well I use Vista and had no problems, strange that this happens for some people.
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    Yup, which is why we've got to explore all possibilities. :confused:
     
  13. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it!!!! It was a corrupt download, managed to get the official one from HTC. Do not ask about the dodgy serial number, quite embarressed about that.

    Cheers for your help.
     
  14. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    So.......... what happened with the dodgy serial number then Andrew? :D
     
  15. Brooks316

    Brooks316 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was reading number in bottom left of the phone, not the one underneath the battery! That'll learn me!:eek:
     
  16. RobertGresdal

    RobertGresdal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to repeat a post I made in another thread, since this is more relevant. I believe this is the solution to the 132 error, it worked for me (without downloading the RUU again).

     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    16,482
    You've also reminded us to double-check such things carefully. I know I did something very similar with another electronic gizmo and ended up with a red face! ;)
     
  18. stryker101

    stryker101 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys, i have tried to update my phone, but HTC serial number checker claims that i do not need the update.

    "Sorry, this software download is not suitable for your device."

    my hero:
    firmware 1.5
    build number: 1.76.405.6 146733
    software 1.0.0.a6288

    don't really know what these numbers mean really, but i bought this phone early last week, and have been somewhat disappointed with wifi that randomly turns off not having moved an inch from where it was working perfectly, or i can sit right next to my modem and it will take perhaps 10 mins to give me a wifi connection.
    and orange signal/phone reception is teribbly erratic. i can get signal in all parts of my house, but quite often it simply disappears to zero bars, without moving the phone an inch from where i was just using it.

    really like it despite these niggles, dont want to get rid!!

    sorry i ramble, could anyone give me a pointer with the upgrade problem?
     
  19. stryker101

    stryker101 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    oops, think i answered my own question. i was trying download the orange update, however my phone is on orange but unlocked:rolleyes:. s/n check now works:)
     
  20. BaronScotty

    BaronScotty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    Now my problem is i keep getting error code 171....make sure the usb cable is connected. i am using the cable that came with the phone, i have downloaded the correct rom update straight of the htc website and i have the white htc hero which isnt locked to any network that i know of.

    Basically, when i start the update the it looks like its working, i have a little progress bar on my phone in the top right hand corner then all of a sudden my phone switches off and straight back on again. really annoying but does anyone have any hints/tips/suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Scotty
     
  21. RobertGresdal

    RobertGresdal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you had it connected to the computer via a USB hub, try connecting it directly to the computer instead.
     
  22. BaronScotty

    BaronScotty New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Robert,

    Thanks for the reply, the cable is connected straight into the PC. Really pulling my hair out to as why it isnt working!!
     
  23. brandontkeenan

    brandontkeenan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting this same error when trying to install the U.K. Update for the unlocked Hero. I have an unlocked one purchased in the U.S., any ideas on how to solve this because i want the speediness the new update brings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...