Hey Guys, Little help with 2.1 root

Last Updated:

1. tigris67

tigris67 Active Member This Topic's Starter

Hi guys,

About 3 months ago I used the Universal "Eris Root for Dummies" on my eris running the official 2.1 update. I rooted it successfully, made a nandroid backup of it, and then proceeded to boot up the kaosFroyo Rom, which I've been using nicely for the past 3 months.

I noticed the phone was a bit laggy recently, so I decided I wanted to try out my original nandroid backup of 2.1 to see if it would run any faster now that i can overclock it using my root access as opposed to using 2.2 on the kaos rom. (I hate lag, and i figured since the Froyo update isn't native to the eris, I would go back to its roots..no pun intended ^_^)

I just rebooted my old nandroid from august, everything seems fine and all. But I downloaded and ran Setcpu to try it out and its telling me I do not have permission for root access.

My question is now...do I need an App to grant it permission? Did my phone go back to being unrooted? (Thats not even possible I thought).
    EDIT: is there anywhere on my phone I can check that its rooted still?, because when i start up the phone and hold the volume up button, it still gives me the option for nandroid backups and stuff, so I'm guessing it still is.

One other thing I wanted to ask is...There are tons of Custom roms out there now running froyo and what not, are there any good custom roms out there still supported and based of the 2.1 update?

thanks for hearing me out guys!
    Appreciate it!

Advertisement
  2. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary Moderator

tigris67, welcome "back"! :)