Hey Guys, New Here :)


Last Updated:

  1. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    First of all, I would like to introduce myself.
    My name is Carmen(hence the user name)
    and I am a regular around the forums since way back when in 2009
    when i had a droid and droid eris and have bounced around from phone to phone
    and now have landed to the Captivate section....

    I am bouncing back between my Xperia and My captivate

    For the most part I love my Captivate but there are a few things it sucks at
    but for the most part, it is great

    Anywhoo,, I just wanted to introduce myself(feel free to PM me...love the messages I get)

    I also wanted to ask...My roommate has a captivate and wanted to know since it is a world phone and can be unlocked

    Can she take this phone and use it on Verizon?
    I wasn't quite sure how to explain it and i figured i'd ask

    Thanks a bunch
    Carmendiva
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    There is a one click unlock available. Samsung Galaxy S on AppBrain. It's free. Head over to the XDA forums and there is a more detailed explanation.
     
  3. Ph8

    Ph8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes the phone can be unlocked and no the phone cant be used on Verizon. Verizon is CDMA and ATT is GSM, they are not compatible. Once unlocked you will only be able to use it on other GSM networks ala TMobile.

    As it was said earlier you can find how to unlock your phone over at xda-developers. There are a few different methods you can unlock it by.
     
  4. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    i was just wondering because i thought world phones meant it had the radios in it for both CDMA and At & t and could use it virtually anywhere

    The reason i asked is because wouldn't the Fascinate(Verizon's captivate) be a world phone like the European Galaxy S, Vibrant and Captivate and if you really wanted it to, couldn't you use it(the fascinate) on At & t and Tmobile all the while it being a CDMA Phone
     
  5. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    Well the difference betwen teh fascinate and the captivate/vibrant/european galaxy s are those are gsm phones, where you can unlock and swap in any simcard you want in. You cant quite do that with the fascinate.
     
  6. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Okay im sorry if that sounds stupid of me

    but the galaxy S phone are world phones(Like my storm was on Verizon and it had a sims card slot) so wouldn't the fascinate have a slot to use it on a GSM network or if need be on a CDMA network, you could potentially just see if you could add it

    Again sorry, just not understanding lol
     
  7. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    I could be wrong i am not sure if the fascinate has an sim card slot. I thought it was an regular cdma phone
     
  8. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    The reason i asked was because i figured since it was a galaxy s phone as well and the captivate and vibrant are world phones it would be too(as would the epic)

    unless they stripped that capability from it
     
  9. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
  10. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
  11. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    The only real problem i have with phone is gps issue, so hopefully it will be fixed later next month so i can be happy again, so i have to quit using my old 3g :-(
     
  12. grave101

    grave101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Fascinate won't be able to be used on ATT or T Mobile at all. It will be strictly CDMA. No possible way of you making it GSM. And you can't use the Captivate on Verizon because that's strictly made as a GSM phone. It's all hardware based.

    I don't understand what you mean by "world phones" because they aren't... All the different versions of the phones all have different hardware for the networks they're supposed to be used on
     
  13. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    ummm if you power on your phone
    it says At & t world phone
     
  14. grave101

    grave101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok...that's their slogan. Has nothing to do with it being able to work on any cell phone carrier.
     
  15. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    the vibrant and the captivate for sure to DO NOT have cdma radio capability in them they are only capable of carrying gsm connectivity. Verizon at one point had started putting in gsm card slots in all of their phones because they are at some point making the switch to gsm.

    The cdma technology is a leased tech. Its actually leased from the goverment. If you ever watch and old war movie and see the guy holding the radio he has to crank the dial on the side about 10 times before he can radio out for help...yea same radio waves. It was leased out to all the carries years ago and then partitions of it were sold to them. All the carriers over the years have been spending money on slowly making the move to gsm with radios etc but its very expensive and time consuming. Sprint at this point in time is actually in talks with tmob on a merger to A. increace customer base for tmob since sprit is huge and B. provide sprint with gsm towers, its a win win for both sides. We'll see if it happens.

    Verizon took a different approach to date, they are still working on the switch but at the worlds slowest rate. They have their phones wired for cdma tech but with sim card slots in them and dub them world phones so u can use them on other networks like piggy backing. Great idea. Wont last forever. They will eventually be forced to move over into this century and use gsm at some point.

    I worked for ATT and now I work for the evil fruit company and all of this is things you learn at day one with ATT literally its part of their selling points. Another is how you can get anyone out of a sprint contract free of charge because there is a clause in it that says if you move somewhere that doesnt support sprint coverage they will release you from your contract no questions asked. Tell them you moved to havre montana. Done your out of contract.

    win/win and I just sold you att or tmob from my kiosk and got you away from sprint for free.

    Dirty lil bastiches arent they.

    Now the evil fruit company i now work for...you dont even wanna know the secrets we have there lol
     
  16. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    That is interesting lolz...Tell me more :)

    and about the other post above you

    No...No, that is not a slogan..."At & T world phone"

    that is letting you know that it's a phone from At & t that you can use in world phones lol

    But i think i understand...the majority of the users in the other countries are GSM carriers and the Captivate(and the Xperia) have the capabilities of all GSM networks to use a sim card on it but no capability of CDMA
     
  17. grave101

    grave101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh my goodness, YES it is their slogan. The Captivate is made to be used in the US. Thats why its not factory unlocked when you buy it.
     
  18. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    Welcome girl. Extremely beautiful lol. Anyways, World Phone yes. As in different areas around the world. But it doesnt have a CDMA Chip in it. So therefore, not that part of the world (IE: Verizon, Sprint) lol

    Although when I was a BlackBerry Fanatic and had the Tour, and Bold and Storms......they had a CDMA and GSM radio in them. So AT&T and TMo users could buy it, unlock it and use it. But not vice versa with Verizon.
     
  19. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    lol for the sake of argument, it's a slogan, grave
     
  20. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Thank you for the compliment Terrigno and Thanks for the explanation :p
     
  21. RavenFox

    RavenFox VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ahh so you decided to try the captivate eh? Good for you. Much better than the Xperia imo. You can look at a good review of the phones over at Engadget but as always reviews mean nothing when it's the user who decides what they want out of said phone.
    Personally I think the Captivate will better serve your needs. Upgrade path is assured and lots of power to spare.
     
  22. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    lol yeah i like it haha
    its a good phone for the most part
     
  23. mongstradamus

    mongstradamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    100
    xperia would have been a nice phone if it came out last year. Still running 1.6 and the hardware seems kind of dated who knows
     
  24. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trust me, the Xperia is a beautiful phone...No Super Amoled but i liked the phone and i would still have it IF...

    1)At & T didn't restrict the apps and allow me to download HTC or Droid X App...I hate the standard keyboard for the Xperia

    2)Call Volume(when the phone rings is horribly low and very tinny sounding)
     
  25. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    Right its two completely different networks and while verizon builds several phones capable of both att does not, HOWEVER the Captivate is unlock-able to be used on other GSM carriers around the world just not CDMA carriers because well that would be taking a step backward in techno and they arent going to do that. Honestly verizon needs to hurry up and catch up with the rest of the world.
     

Share This Page

Loading...