Hey, when did we get proxy support!?


Last Updated:

  1. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    I'm running CyanogenMod 5.0.6.2 and I just noticed that under Wireless and network settings there is a Proxy settings option. It asks you for a hostname and port and lets you choose to use it only under WiFi.

    My question is: At school they make me connect to "http://proxy.nycboe.org/proxy.pac" to get internet access. My computer can do that through Firefox's "Automatic Proxy Configuration URL" option, but what do I do here to get it to work? Maybe the hostname is that URL and the port is 80 or something?

    Either way I like the fact that we finally have proxy support. I really don't remember seeing this before so if it's old, forgive me. :eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. click339

    click339 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Ive the Samsung Spica flashed to the new Android 2.1 and i cant find the Proxy settings anywhere. Do u think i need to reflash with another version?
     
  3. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    I don't know anything about that phone but I only saw it in the CyanogenMod ROM. If you don't have that, then that's your answer. If your phone doesn't have support for a CyanogenMod ROM then I don't know what you can do.
     
  4. confabber

    confabber Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Atleast the official versions do not have proxy support. Not sure of unofficial versions though !!
     
  5. dfg4evr

    dfg4evr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any update on the proxy.pac
     
  6. mgranja

    mgranja New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now for the first time there is an app in the market that supports proxy.pac autoconfiguration. It's my app, called Autoproxy. You need to root to use it, but it will allow you to use Market, Maps, Gmail, browse the web, anything. Check it out at https://market.android.com/details?id=com.mgranja.autoproxy
     
  7. lechuckcaptain

    lechuckcaptain Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey, I'm trying to cover the topic from the Developer point of view in my blog. Maybe you can find it useful:

    The issue 1273

    Starting from this collaboration now also Zirco browser support the proxy settings, NO ROOT required!
     
    johnlgalt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...