Hi all,new hereGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Locoman

    Locoman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    31
    I've been looking and reading here for a few wks and finally registered. Three wks ago I dropped my BB Storm 2 which was my first smart phone, and shattered the screen. No Ins. for the last 15 yrs which saved a lot so I got the HTC Eris from VZ and a glove case to protect it. Didn't do any research about it or the android system before buying it. Coming from the BB to Android was like coming out of the dark ages. So many apps and ease of use. I'm an avid amature astronomer with several telescopes. Absolutely love google sky map and zenith telescope apps. Great tools! Don't do a lot of texting and facebook and other things most younger tech savy people do. Yea I'm an old fart! Anyway, after installing swype to my phone it sometimes doesn't work like it should. I put the HTC mobile network icon on my home page so I could easily turn off 3G when not in use to save battery. With my job I have to turn off my phone while I'm working so sometimes I use airplane mode. When I turn off airplane mode my the HTC mobile network icon on my home screen doesn't work to turn on 3G. I have to power off the phone to get it working again. It's not a big problem but sometimes annoying. Any fixes?
    I've been reading about rooting and installing the leaked 2.1 but really don't think I'm savy enough to try so I'll wait for the over the air OTA when or if it comes. I still love the phone with 1.5 and a lot of my co workers I show my phone to want it to. Anyway thanks to anyone who responds to me with help!
    Doug
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Welcome to the forum.

    I don't use swype so I can't be of much help with that.

    As far as your issue with airplane mode and 3G. Not sure if you are, but you do not have to turn off the mobile network when you go into airplane mode. Airplane mode will do that on its own.
     
  3. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    which version of swype are you using? and welcome as well. this place becomes is hard to get away from. be careful. ;P
     
  4. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I would recommend you root instead of 2.1. With root you gain admin. privileges and can use a 2.1 ROM as well.
     
  5. Locoman

    Locoman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm using Swype Lite 1.16. As far as rooting I'm not that tech knowledgeable but I have read here some of what it's about, love to learn! I really don't want to void my warranty! The phone does all I want it to do for me for now so it's maybe an option in the future.
    Thanks
    Doug
     
  6. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    I use that version as well. And it does mess up every now and then but you learn to get used to it. Beta was still buggy as well but not as bad. Dont do root/leak then if you worried about warranty. The phone is great without that stuff any ways. Enjoy!
     
  7. Boulder257

    Boulder257 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    5
    Welcome to the forum. I can tell you from experience that the 2.1 upgrade is incredibly easy to install. Just follow the very simple instructions. However, I can also tell you that sometimes the event doesn't match the anticipation.
     
  8. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    Welcome. If you want to turn mobile network on and off try using a long press on the power button. It brings up a menu that will let you turn MN on or off as well as airplane, sound, vibration and power off. It works better than the widgets and it saves room on your home screens.
     
  9. Locoman

    Locoman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    31
    Thanks, I think that will work fine. Got rid of the icon and I'm just using the power key now and so far seems to work turning on and off mobile.
     
  10. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Welcome to the forums hon :)
     
  11. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    when i have trouble with swype i switch input methods then switch back. it works again after that. and by issues i mean i can swype the word but when done a red square flashes around the keypad and beeps and doesnt display the word. how ever i can tap the word. soooooo switch input method then go right back , ... hope this helps.
     
  12. WARRIIOR

    WARRIIOR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sounds like my weddding day...lol!
     
  13. carmendiva

    carmendiva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    118
    Now that is funny
     

Share This Page

Loading...