High internet usage!!!!


Last Updated:

  1. jason-567

    jason-567 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    27
    I recently rooted my phone and updated the rom to froyo and eversince i have been having very high internet usage so i have 2 questions!
    1. Is there a way i can block certain apps from using the 3G internet?
    2. Is there an app that will tell me what apps are using what amount of 3G internet usage?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    What apps do you have?
     
  3. jason-567

    jason-567 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    27
    bump
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Yup havent answered my post
     
  5. jason-567

    jason-567 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    27
    @nx1977 too many to list
    my backup pro
    froyo email client
    titanium back up (never opened)
    defrost (rom) setup
    These are the ones that i think could be the cause of my 5mb per hour usage
     
  6. Jammy

    Jammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    174
    Why not add a toggle to a homescreen?

    You could turn 3G off whenever you aren't using it.
     
  7. jason-567

    jason-567 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    27
    thats what i am doing atm i but i like my 3g on so i can gey my emails faster and so on, i never had this problem before i rooted
     
  8. DarkInovator

    DarkInovator Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think there is a firewall app that will block certain apps from accessing the networks 3G or wireless for that matter ... guess no one has thought of this yet
     
  9. Desire D

    Desire D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why not try stopping one app at a time to work out whats using all the bandwidth.

    No difference in usage here since rooting.
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Any news apps?
     
  11. TELREA

    TELREA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use 3G Watchdog myself seems like a great app

    TEL.
     
  12. DarkInovator

    DarkInovator Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    3G Watchdog dose not stop certain apps from accessing data so its not what the OP wanted.
     
  13. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    A better question you can answer is, what apps are you using when on a 3G connection?
     
  14. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Which is what I tried asking, but only got 3 apps listed :rolleyes:

    Perhaps the op can install appbrain and give a link to his apps page for us to check?
     
  15. kozjegyzo

    kozjegyzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All,

    I'm experiencing extremely high data usage 20+ MB per day after I installed Froyo. Before my daily max was 6 MB.

    Has anyone experienced this behavior?

    Can you suggest a data monitoring app that tells me data usage app by app? I have watchdog, and Netcounter and Netmonitor, but they are general, and cant tell me what app is doing all the mischief.

    I have an unrooted HTC Desire with OTA Froyo

    Here are my apps:

    kozjegyzo's Apps on the HTC Desire

    I live in Hungary and unlimited plans have bee abolished years ago, so I'm stuck with a caped one that get very expensive if I overrun.

    All help would be appreciated greatly...

    Thanks
     
  16. starbase1

    starbase1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are you absolutely sure it's froyo?

    When I got my desire, I was more than a bit surprised at how low the amount of data I could access was... I see a few music appllications in your list, and on a plan like 500mb a month, (what I get), even a couple of large songs can blow your daily allowance.

    And god help you if you use it for youtube!

    Check the settings for all your applications, many of mine have option on when and how they auto refresh. And some have the option not to do it unless wifi connected.

    Maybe also use a task killer, to get rid of stuff that might be downloading in the background.

    Nick
     
  17. kozjegyzo

    kozjegyzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply.

    Well since I have not changed my usage habits since I updated to Froyo, I'm assuming it has to do with something in the update.
    I don't use youtube and I use my music app to play music only from my SD card.

    The thing is that I can see the counter spinning for example on NetMonitor, and tonnes of data being downloaded while no apps are open and I'm not doing anything.
    I'm using the same setting as with Eclair so it has to be something in Froyo making apps sync more.
    It's a huge data usage increase that is not founded at all. I mean going from a 2-3 MB average to 20MB with no surfing and no use of Maps, that's just mean.
    If a knew this was gonna happen, I would have installed a cooked ROM, not the official HTC one. Now I'n stuck with it, because it can not be root-ed yet.

    I need help! Anyone?
     
  18. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    Try a monitoring app such as OS Monitor or System Panel Lite to monitor what is showing as active while the data is being downloaded.
     
    Jyro275 likes this.
  19. Ceefax

    Ceefax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    15
  20. kozjegyzo

    kozjegyzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Guys for trying to help, I really appreciate it!
    Droidwall needs root access which I don't have because the OTA HTC Froyo is not cracked yet. So I'm stuck with it right now...

    I know of an app "Network Statistics" that is supposed to show network usage by app, but it's a paid app. I can't access paid apps from Hungary to my unfortunate...
     
  21. Ceefax

    Ceefax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ah, that is a pity as root access would solve both those problems. Hope it gets rooted and booted soon for you!
     
  22. kozjegyzo

    kozjegyzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1

    I installed both. System Panel seems to be easier to see through.
    It's showing activity for "android.process.acore" when a lot of data is flowing.
    I assume it's a system package so it's probably not the best idea to kill it...

    Anyhow if someone knows why Froyo has this insane data hunger please let me know
     
  23. berlin bertie

    berlin bertie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree that YouTube seems to eat up a disproportionate amount of bandwidth.
     
  24. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    There's an interesting post here which may help you:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/103811-what-my-phone-downloading.html#post969486

    It basically says that android.process.acore is Facebook for HTC sense!
     

Share This Page

Loading...