Hit home button, blank screen. WTF?Support


Last Updated:

  1. element4life3

    element4life3 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    So I have had my Evo for about 2 weeks, and all of a sudden when I am in an app, then hit the home button, I am presented with a blank home screen for sometimes up to 15 seconds then all of my widgets and icons appear. It is actually quite annoying now that it is doing this almost every other time I go back to the home screen. It even happens when I hit the back button sometimes to get back to any one of my 5 home screens.

    Has anyone else had this issue? :confused:

    Here is a list of all of the apps I currently have on my phone in case one of them might be the culprit.
     

    Advertisement
  2. RTan

    RTan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    24
    May be you should power-cycle your devices. If you installed ton of apps from the Android market and hadn't reboot your device, this kind of hiccups do occur.
     
  3. element4life3

    element4life3 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    I usually reboot my phone every 2 days or so, but have tried rebooting my phone more often to see if I can fix this issue but to no avail... :(
     
  4. IAmSixNine

    IAmSixNine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    25
    Sounds like something got installed that is either hogging the processor or preventing the phone from being fast.
    Install SystemPannel and see if your processor is at full capacity.
    I have noticed from time to time an app will hang and it causes what your refering to but not for as long. Also a power cycle does fix my problem.
     
  5. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    323
    I was going to suggest monitoring your CPU usage while this happens. I haven't used the app bigwrigg suggested, but I'm sure it will provide the necessary feedback.

    I like SeePU in the notification bar, and Android System Info as a larger, more powerful app for all sorts of info.
     
  6. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    Uninstall LauncherPro and see if the issue continues. This is usually caused by the home screen crashing/being killed.
     
  7. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Seeing as you're using launcherpro, try this.

    Go to preferences from the home screen, hit general, then check the "Keep in memory' box.

    What you're describing seems what I had happen with stock Sense quite often. Try to go back to home after riding the super information highway, and get a white HTC screen that pops up when the Sense launcher is loading. That's usually from the process being ended due to low memory.
     
    element4life3 likes this.
  8. element4life3

    element4life3 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just tried this, I will see how it handles the next day or so.

    Just for clarification, when my homescreen goes blank, the launcher and its icons do not dissapear, only my widgets and icons on my homescreens.
     
  9. element4life3

    element4life3 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Thefoodman52! That seems to have cleared up my issue. I haven't had it go blank on me since I checked this option. It said it might cause instability, but I haven't experienced that yet! :D
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    yup...since it was not being held in memory...it was "re-drawing" your home screen each time.

    eventually I rooted and completely uninstalled sense and have had no issues with launcher pro..
     

Share This Page

Loading...