holy crap AT&T sucks


Last Updated:

  1. gynormus

    gynormus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    I can't believe that AT&T is holding back on loading angry birds in the market, i know its not the phone or Samsung because its in the market on a friends Fascinate... also they won't allow side loading the damn game from Appbrain or elsewhere unless you root. Why do they do this? it almost makes me want to go back to VZW and pay a little extra a month. I wish carriers would let Android be open like it's supposed to dammit!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    Install AppBrain on the phone and Fast Web Installer add-on to AppBrain. Then install the birds right from the AppBrain website. It is as easy as 1-2-3.

    Rovio probably placed a "beta" tag on the app, and AT&T blocks beta apps. - just my guess. I can't complain, AT&T is trying to protect its customers, and I appreciate that.
     
    Jofaba, idilium and gynormus like this.
  3. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    i used sideload wonder machine, took me all of 2 mins downloading and 1 min transferring to my phone
     
  4. gynormus

    gynormus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    thanks, found it
     
  5. speedfreak32

    speedfreak32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    I am not sure that their intentions are solely to protect the customer. They block apps and services they compete with as well as things that would cause heavy strain on the networks.

    As for angry birds I am sure the developer is a trusted one as the iphone app is the number one selling game on itunes.
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I'm no fan of AT&T but I have no problem with AT&T not listing beta apps in the marketplace and completely understand the reasoning behind doing so.

    Besides, there's a trivial way around this (which doesn't require root) if you're dead-set on installing it. Takes seconds.

    Wait until the final, completed app is released then see if AT&T is still not listing it in the marketplace before getting your feathers in a ruffle.
     
    chicknlil likes this.
  7. LordHumongouz

    LordHumongouz Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sideload Wonder Machine for the win.
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I was referring to the AppBrain Fast Web Installer, which is even easier and faster and doesn't require getting the APK file from someone.
     
  9. Dimcorner

    Dimcorner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's how I got my copy.
     
  10. ranova

    ranova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    74
    You can also turn on Airplane mode, then turn on just wifi and go into market. You can then access everything
     
  11. LordHumongouz

    LordHumongouz Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    One of my major misgivings about the Captivate is having to use AT&T.

    I see them as being draconian and inflexible, plus having an aging 3G infrastructure. This phone won't be good for LTE or the (whatever it is called) HSUPDA+ band that the T-Mobile version has.

    is it worth two years with AT&T, even getting the Captivate for free?
     
  12. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    ^^^ i have been AT&T customer for about 14 years non-stop. Call me crazy but I like them. Besides I have 4 line with them, HAVE TO like them. :)
     
  13. Jofaba

    Jofaba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    31
    I keep trying to do this a dozen different ways. I'd love to know how to install stuff without rooting. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Within the browser, by launching the fast web installer, there is no install option on the site like there is when I pull it up on my laptop. And when I try to sync or install with the appbrain app, it says it can't be found. Any help or more detailed instructions?
     
  14. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    Here is what you do, step by step:

    1) Register with AppBrain using the google ID you use on your phone

    2) Install AppBrain app
    [table][tr][td][​IMG][/td][td]AppBrain App Market
    by Swiss Codemonkeys
    >250,000 downloads, 10083 ratings (4.5 avg)
    [/td][td]Free
    [​IMG][/td][/tr][/table]

    3) Install Fast Web Installer add-on
    [table][tr][td][​IMG][/td][td]Fast Web Installer
    by Swiss Codemonkeys
    50,000 downloads, 1079 ratings (4.5 avg)
    [/td][td]Free
    [​IMG][/td][/tr][/table]

    4) Go to AppBrain Android Market - find the best Android Apps and Games from your desktop PC. Locate ANY app you want installed. Find the blue INSTALL button (top left corner, right under download stats).

    5) Click that button, make sure your phone is on network. AppBrain web site will ask the usual permission thing the Market app always asks on your phone. Once you accept, the app you picked will get pushed to your phone and autoinstalled! Magic!

    Alternatively, as some people mentioned here, you can locate the .apk file of the app somewhere, and use a side loading tool to install it. But I do not advise that as who knows how that apk file was modified by whoever placed it on the web.
     
    Jofaba likes this.
  15. Jofaba

    Jofaba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    31
    EDIT: Okay! Anyone having the same confusion as me, here is what you do. After you've installed both apps and ran through both installations and walkthroughs, then you go to appbrain.com in your browser, go to "my apps", scroll down to the app you want to install and hit install. If it says "cancel install" (like mine did, perhaps because you've been trying by other means) then choose that, then once it says install again click that. Then it will install.

    Opened fine once installed! Thanks guys! =)

    post-edit: Sorry GetDange! I didn't see your post before my first edit here but thanks so much! I'll try that way for another app. Really glad to see a non-root way of installing programs. Now I need to check out a few that I was interested in but didn't show up in the market. =)
     
  16. jflexe99

    jflexe99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    17
    This didn't work for me...still mad

    says app has been sent, I get NOTHING...wtf
     
  17. jflexe99

    jflexe99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    17
    Oh wait, I am downloading upgrades, google maps( YAH!) and other things...I see angry birds in the line up!!! OMG!!! I can't wait!!!!!
     
  18. A.VOID

    A.VOID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    you're upset with at&t for not presenting a beta app in the marketplace? seriously?
     
  19. gynormus

    gynormus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    22
    yep, I don't see the problem there... its the same as the lite version on the iPhone. Beta's are nice to have so you can report the bugs you find to the dev to move things along faster. It's just a joke, when every other mobile phone carrier has it on there, and i mean come on... Rovio is not going to plant some bug on this "beta" version when they have had millions and millions of downloads on their lite iPhone version.
     
  20. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    No, "beta" does not mean the same as "lite".

    "Beta" means beta... the code is in a "beta" state, and they're just working on the "lite" version as a test of the underlying engine. You think it's the same since you're seeing the same limited levels, but that's got nothing to do with the code being "beta". They're not 100% confident that the code is stable, and they say up-front when you launch it that it's unfinished and might not represent the final version when it's ready.

    This is their first pass at the Anrdoid port and they've just slapped some initial levels in there so that people have something to hammer with.
     
  21. mercdizzle

    mercdizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    who gives a shit what att wants to impose? none of that matters to me, I'm free to install whatever I want on my phone, and also have access to the real market, not what att wants me to see
     
  22. 3gAndroid

    3gAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    26
    I have been using both AT&T and Verizon for over 8 years. They are both guilty of forcing limitations on us. It's typical of the cellular industry. For example, an even bigger problem with Verizon at the moment is that if you buy their Galaxy S variant, you don't even have Google as your search engine and there is no way to get it unless you root the phone. Not something the average user knows how to do, or wants to do.

    Verizon over the years has generally been the worst when it comes to limitations on their phones. So it's buyer beware when it comes to any of the carriers. If I had to choose just one carrier and my two choices were Verizon or AT&T, the fact is it would be a tough call. In my case I'd go with AT&T for the sole reason that they have much better signal strength and coverage in the various places I travel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...