HOLY @#$@#$ I got root NOW HELP!!


Last Updated:

  1. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    LOL Well finally got the good old message that I was "in" WAAHOOO (total surprise by the way). Anyways I'm going through the steps and moving along nicely. I pushed the updates and did that little timing install and was about to do the part where it makes the whole thing stick but the batch file had an error and didn't run. Then the shell went to $ and I was lost:(. Rebooted phone and I have the super user but I still need to continue. I also didn't get wifi teather . Do I have to do it all over and hope I get in again or can I somehow continue??

    And I got root by going back to the ten minute video with my new 8g card. It didn't work the first time i tried because the port I had plugged the phone into was not working. duh

    so I put it in another port and go through the steps to catch up to the video to try the 2nd method and when I hit adb shell BAAM!

    So if anyone know what I should do please let me know.
    Thanks

    Update:
    Well I went back and redid it and everything looked fine no errors. But when I reboot I have no Super User any more. I had it the first time (the one I screwed up) but II can't get it now.
    Any ideas?? I'm sooooo close
     

    Advertisement
  2. RootDaDuck

    RootDaDuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    12
    How about you tell us how you got adb with recovery instead of just bragging about it?

    Method, drivers, OS, etc.
     
  3. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    How is F'ing it up bragging? I won't flame you back though because I feel you pain/frustration man. LOL Besides I'll probably never reproduce it to fix it DAMN DAMN DAMN!!! Oh and if you had read the WHOLE post I tell you how.

    Later
     
  4. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    dl a root app and see what happens, like lamppu. if it works, you're good. just find the thread about wifi tethering and go from there

    Oh, and congrats. Glad to see it finally worked out for you.
     
  5. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I went back and did it again and it work a second time no problem!! Woohooo again! :D This time I completed it no problems and I'm about to install wifi tether.


    And for those that missed it

    I received an pny 8g card I had ordered a few weeks back and tried rooting (with the push in and out SD method) last night while it was in a brand new state.
    Didn't work.:confused:
    So I loaded up the card with my files like normal and went to sleep.
    Today I decide to give it one more shot with the ten minute video because frankly that method looked the easiest. I was going to do it just kill the time while I was formatting a 2g sd I was going to try next (man a full format takes a long time!). Anyways I follow the video and BABM Just like in the vid ! I'm in.

    I screwed up the procedure so I had to do it again. Again no problem nailed it first try both times.

    If anyone is interested
    Win 7 64
    8g sandisk about half full with normal files
    Did 10 minute video

    WOOHOOO! been trying since day 1.

    The only thing I really did different was I did a back flip off the other side of the bed when I got up this morning.
     
  6. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Can anyone help please
    This is what I have going on now

    After I finally got root and did all the setup steps etc etc. and all went well and looked correct. I then rebooted I have the superuser app, so far so good.

    However when I try to use apps that need superuser permissions they fail.
    So it looks like I have root
    Some apps will report I have root
    They ask for SU permission and I say yes
    The SU app shows the apps with their permissions granted
    But so far all have failed
    WIFItether says I have root but can't load some module or setup the SSID and some other settings
    Titanium backup reports it can't get root access
    Juicedefender says I have root but can't access the APN's which need SU rights

    So what's happened. It's like only half of the SU is installed.

    PS I undid root and even tried it all again and the same thing happens.

    Thanks
    bp
     

Share This Page

Loading...