1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Home++ Beta (Home replacement with so much potential)


Last Updated:

  1. thebarbrr

    thebarbrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just downloaded this from the android market...new app is great...great interface...Has reflective type menu on the bottom that you can slde across to view different shortcuts, cannot customize menu yet but im sure it will be available in next update...soon i hope!! looks great. Menu reminds me of Leopard OS =]
     

    Advertisement
  2. DR0ID

    DR0ID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow, this is a home replacement i may actually use....holy crap

    thanks!
     
  3. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks really nice. :)
     
  4. MotoDroidHelpandInfo

    MotoDroidHelpandInfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for this. Think I'll stick with GDE until this matures.
     
  5. Matthew

    Matthew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    8
    Its awesome, and it actually works..and works good!
     
  6. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'll give it a shot since I've tried all of the other ones. So far, still using GDE, but once I get to play with this one a little I'll give my opinion.
     
  7. writhum

    writhum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Like others, I'm going to stick with GDE for now, but this has potential.
     
  8. Nidisa

    Nidisa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can you give search words? Is this by Andrew Kachaniwsky? I get Home "Demo Application. Broken functionality at the moment. Please do not comment"
     
  9. DR0ID

    DR0ID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    i searched home++ and it worked
     
  10. Nepherim

    Nepherim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks nice, but boy, it wants access to your entire device, including all contact data. I have no desire to provide all my contacts info for a cool home app.
     
  11. JRSly

    JRSly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do any other home replacements loop the home screens like Home++? I've never heard it mentioned anywhere and thought it seemed like an obvious, intuitive feature to include. For this small fact alone, I'm definitely giving it a thorough look.
     
  12. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    GDE does.
     
  13. koticphreak

    koticphreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any home replacement will want access to the entire device. the more features something has, the more access it will need.


    And this looks pretty nice, but I'll stick to GDE for now.
     
  14. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I like the layout and options in GDE better, but after playing with this one, I noticed that it's damn fast. I might stick with it for a bit just for that reason.
     
  15. koticphreak

    koticphreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    A lot of people say they get lag with GDE, other than the occasional lag time when I go to the home screen (via the home button), it works great for me...
     
  16. mazz0310

    mazz0310 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    38
    I must admit I really like this. I am glad I ahvent yet bought GDE because this is very smooth. And I like the bar on the bottom.
     
  17. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I wouldn't say GDE really "lags", it's just noticeably slower to transition than this one. With only 3 screens, GDE was very, very fast, but I use 4, and on my device, I definitely notice not-so-smooth transitions. Home++ has 4 screens for me right now and I haven't noticed a bit of slowdown, stuttering or lag.

    Still, I like GDE's layout and options better. I can't decide which one to stick with.
     
  18. ocean1

    ocean1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    9
    This is really nice! The little bubble explanation is the new notification I guess yet it does not turn red or do anything. I have to keep checking to see if I have anything. I hear the sound but we loose the notification bar up top so the one on the bottom needs to turn red or do something! Also few apps dont like it like handsent SMS the widget does a force close/wait. Be nice if it had the weather widget in the widget select like the clock. I use weather bug which is fine, but looks a lot like HTC sense UI so finish it! Few bugs and some polish be sweet!! Its Beta so what do I expect! Love it though. Get that notification bubble at the bottom to do somethng!!!
     
  19. DR0ID

    DR0ID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think they should just keep the bar at the top...i like the stock home screen with everything but only 3 screens...i just want more screens...i dont need all these stupid animations that just slow down the device...i like the sidebars like pandahome has...the speed of home++ and having 4 screens....why cant anyone just make a SIMPLE home replacement.
     
  20. Silverwing

    Silverwing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0

    If you click and hold the bubble you get back your standard notifcation bar ontop :):):)
     
  21. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    This is great so far. Thanks for the heads up. Rep added :D
     
  22. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    I'm looking for the same thing, just the ability to to add more home screens, the rest I'll keep.
    J.
     
  23. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    So far, I have seen 4 home screens on Home++. However, it is not playing nicely with widgets.

    AccuWeather widget no longer allows scrolling from current view to forecast view (and it is broken on hte original home screen too). Uninstallign Home++ makes it work.

    Other widgets would not work until I power cycled the phone. Accuweather is still not working.
     
  24. mikespe

    mikespe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    This all I really need too...I just want to be able to add screens to the stock Android...Maybe Google/Motorola can put it in a software update soon!
     
  25. thebarbrr

    thebarbrr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you tap and hold the notification bubble in the bottom it'll broing notification back if you want it. Took me a while to figure out
     

Share This Page

Loading...