Home has stopped!Support


Last Updated:

  1. fin3125

    fin3125 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I press the blue apps icon on the home page of my LG Spectrum phone, it gives me a screen that says "unfortunately, home has stopped". I am not rooted. I dont want to reinstall everything.

    Why is that and what to do????

    Dave

     

    Advertisement
  2. sosaudio1

    sosaudio1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well think back to what were the last few things you were doing before you started getting this error?
     
  3. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,891
    Likes Received:
    6,116
    Do you have a separate launcher installed like GoLauncher, Apex, Nova? Perhaps that's causing the problem.
     
  4. bones420la

    bones420la Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    81
    Go to settings > apps > all apps
    Find the lg home and try clearing cache. If that doesnt work try clearing data for the lg home. That should make it work right. If not I would suggest trying out adw
     
    Dominionsam77 and allbroncos like this.
  5. sosaudio1

    sosaudio1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    32
    And please report back on your progress....good or bad as it helps the community if others have the same problem
     
  6. ThorTram

    ThorTram New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answer

    FYI:

    I just had the same thing happen on my daughter's (non-rooted) Spectrum last night.

    The Home screen itself would work, but trying to bring up the Apps list resulted in "Unfortunately, Home has stopped."

    I was able to install ADWLauncher and verify that it worked fine and I was able to run all of the apps that I tried/

    After tinkering with it for a while, I was able to get things rolling again.

    What I think did it was a combination of clearing out the Cache and freeing up some space on the SD Card - it had less than 10MB free and just clearing out the Cache without getting some free space did not work.
     
  7. cbtat129

    cbtat129 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I had this same problem and I haven't even had my phone for more than a week but i got it fixed thanks to the help of some on this website. When I went to clear the cache, I couldn't tap the option so instead I cleared the data. It got the app button to work again, but don't be freaked out if it gives you messages about creating folders and stuff, it just has tutorial stuff. Also the home screen might be reverted back to the original (like reordered etc.)

    THanks to everyone who replied, it really helped!
     
  8. pkjamwal

    pkjamwal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the similar problem with my phone and clearing cache actually saved me and my two week old phone.
    Thanks
     
  9. Devanuj

    Devanuj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep Guys....clearing the Home data fixed the problem.....For better results restart once as well....Thank you for the solution :)
     
  10. Dunard

    Dunard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fix my issue today. Thanks :)
     
  11. ktui123

    ktui123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    plz can some one help me 2 i root my lg g4 and its doing me the saym problem and when wath to do
     
  12. bigironTX

    bigironTX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an "LG GPadF 8.0" AT&T version (V-495) and I have been having the same "Unfortunately... message" problem. This is a tablet with a SIM card supporting access to my AT&T data plan but not telephone. Several people reported success with bones42ola's suggestion of clearing the cache for LG Home by going to settings > apps > all apps and finding LG Home and clearing the cache.

    The problem is I can go to settings > apps, but there is no "all apps" under that. And "apps" does not have "LG Home" or "Home"

    History...
    It started when I was in Seattle, sometime between May 12th and May 17th. I think the first problem was when I went from Seattle to Vancouver, BC (Canada) and used offline Google Maps to navigate around the Vancouver area. I think the first crash was on May 17th, when driving back (using offline maps) from North Vancouver to Blaine, Washington (which was also in the downloaded map). Once I got to Blaine, ending that route, I got the "Unfortunately..." message. Since then other things have been associated with the crash, including other navigating (with online maps) and ending the "Music" player app.

    Two questions:
    • How do I get to LG Home so I can clear the cache?
    • Why does the cache get corrupted? Is there a fix for that? (I let the automatic updates update things.)
    Rich - Austin, TX


     
  13. SHLEW

    SHLEW New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clearing the cache has solved the similar problem of "Unfortunately, Home has stopped" on my LG4. Thanks.
     
  14. itayblasbalg

    itayblasbalg New Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't Work For My Lg G3 D855 :\
     

Share This Page

Loading...