Home screen doesnt rotate to landscape mode anymore unless keyboard is slid out.Support


Last Updated:

  1. tx_brandon

    tx_brandon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    48
    Home screen used to do landscape immediate and always. Now it doesn't do landscape at all unless I slide the keyboard out and it pops into landscape immediately. Then when I close the keyboard it goes back to portrait even when I'm holding the phone in landscape. Not sure how to fix this, help please.
     

    Advertisement
    LilGravy likes this.
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I've been trying to figure this one out as well.
     
  3. tx_brandon

    tx_brandon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    48
    I think it has something to do with an app I installed that somehow locked out landscape home screen with keyboard closed. Some annoying bug maybe. Do you have Labyrinth Lite installed?
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Negative
     
  5. robl45

    robl45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have same problem, maybe it was an update or something. I was beginning to think I was crazy and the home screen only does landscape with keyboard out..
     
  6. Bmerz

    Bmerz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    I noticed this too yesterday, a quick shake - and it went into landscape mode (with keyboard closed). But I didn't have to do this when I 1st got the phone, as its sensor automatically flipped it for me - without having to do anything. Odd.
     
  7. sleipner

    sleipner Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    do you have orientation checked in sounds & display?
     
  8. Pitbull329

    Pitbull329 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine does it without the keyboard being out. But Im using adw launcher. It wouldn't do it with the keyboard in with touchwiz. (I never looked into the settings for changing it, if its possible to do so.)
     
  9. robl45

    robl45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3

    mine won't do it even with a quick shake, only when keyboard comes out. I swear it used to do it.
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yes (for me at least).

    I swear I've been through the menus no less than 30 times trying to find what I'm missing.

    Ditto!
     
  11. tx_brandon

    tx_brandon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    48
    Orientation is checked and mine still only goes landscape with keyboard out. weird...maybe I'm imagining things from first couple days that I didn't really experience.
     
  12. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    mine never rotated like that and its set to auto rotate. zero apps installed
     
  13. 5Strong

    5Strong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    I do not believe that it ever had this capability. It will only rotate with the keyboard closed once you have chosen an app.
     
  14. Spirko

    Spirko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated: Actually, it looks like it was Android updates from Google that removed the auto-rotation. This thread is informative:

    https://supportforums.motorola.com/thread/16696?tstart=0

    OP: For some reason, the Car Dock application locks out the auto rotation of the home screen. Before it is run the first time, the home screens will auto rotate; afterwards, they won't. On one of the Motorola.com forums, they claimed it was by design.
     
  15. AssaultedNuts

    AssaultedNuts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happened to me as well and I thought I was losing my mind...or that LauncherPro was acting up.

    There is a little app called "AutoRotate Switch" by kenneth Cheng that made things right again. Try it out.
     
  16. SntaCruz83

    SntaCruz83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ack! I just swapped out my defective Epic for a new one yesterday and the one i have now definitely auto-rotates the home screen using Launcher Pro. I guess if there was an OTA update it hasn't hit me yet.

    Edit: Nvm...just read that an earlier poster indicated it was a result of starting the car dock app.
     
  17. zurvan2

    zurvan2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do we have the Car Dock app on the Epic? I can't find it.
     
  18. robl45

    robl45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    me neither.
     
  19. robl45

    robl45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    this didn't work for me.
     
  20. antmon

    antmon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    mine never went landscape on the main screen unless i popped open the keyboard....it's been like this for me since day one....
     
  21. Blaznlow

    Blaznlow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    mine does not neither but when i go into setting menu it will.. very interesting
     
  22. ImNotYourGirlfriend

    ImNotYourGirlfriend Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine doesnt either... :(
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I got a BRAND NEW phone today and it didn't rotate when I took it out of the box. I guess I imagined it.
     
  24. ImNotYourGirlfriend

    ImNotYourGirlfriend Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did a factory reset on my phone and it DOES rotate. I repeat: It does rotate. It may have to do with touchwiz since I disabled it immediately after reset in favor of android launcher.
     
  25. rotting savior

    rotting savior New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe mine stopped rotating after I installed and uninstalled Launcher Pro. It will auto rotate when running Launcher now, but not with the other home screens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...