• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Honda Civic + Evo Shift + Handsfreelink Bluetooth

mike12806

Jun 12, 2011
Hi everyone,

First post woo! I just bought a 2012 Honda Civic w/ navigation and bluetooth and am trying to pair my EVO shift (stock 2.2 build), and it will not either not stay connected or will let you place / take one call, then disconnects. I can't import my phone book either. Anyone have any suggestions for solutions? I've tried unpairing and re-pairing numerous times.

Welcome to AF! glad to see you found the appropriate forum... Anyway, I have no experience with BT issues with my shift. I use a hands free earpiece, and have not ever had an issue with disconnecting. It may not help, but start with a reboot... Sometimes that will help with little issues from time to time. Have you paired another phone with your car to see if the problem lies with the phone or the car? I would, just to eliminate one or the other.... Good luck, and post back up if you find anything new....:D

Reactions: mike12806
Upvote 0
As far as I know, the Shift is using Bluetooth 2.1 and this is known to have some car connectivity problems.

I'm not 100% sure - but I **think** the upcoming update for the Shift to Android 2.3 may include an update for Bluetooth.

I'll check those facts and get back to you.

Welcome to the forums!

That would be great - I really appreciate it. As you can imagine, it's extremely frustrating to have a brand new car and a relatively new phone, and they won't work together!! haha

Upvote 0
I just bought a 2012 Honda Civic EX, and mine has the exact same problem. I can force it to connect to the handsfree phone system, make a call, but then it transfers the call back to the phone after about 30 seconds, disconnects and the phone freezes. So frustrating! Also, it will not communicate the contacts at all.