Honest opinions for getting the moment but not using Google?Support


Last Updated:

  1. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    I really like the moment and am leaning towards it for my upgrade. I am a happy Instinct owner and was waiting for the HD and the moment to come out. I also considered the Hero but I like the physical keyboard as well. My only fear is that I don't use Gmail. I have Yahoo and I used to have Hotmail so I have converted once and not sure I want to convert again. Is gmail a necessity to enjoy not only the Moment but Android OS phones period? I appreciate any responses to the positive or negative. Need help making my decision to wait for the Moment or just go to the HD.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Gremlyn1

    Gremlyn1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    You CAN use other e-mail accounts on the phone, but you need to create a Google account in order to use the phone if you don't already have one. Chance are you'll start using your Yahoo mail and switch over because it'll be easier ;)
     
  3. Bernal

    Bernal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Gremlyn says, you will need a Gmail account. But that doesn't mean you need to use it for email.

    To use the Android mail client with Yahoo Mail you actually need to pay Yahoo for their Mail Plus service so that you can use the POP3 protocol to access your mail remotely. My experience with POP3 isn't very recent, but you may want to ask around or look into it because you may not like how it works. If Mail Plus supports IMAP, that would probably be a better option.
     
  4. stynkfysh

    stynkfysh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The benefits are pretty strong for using gmail with the phone. Gmail has an email import function for Yahoo mail so you can transfer all of your email over. I think that it even remains active for a while after the import so you don't miss any email.
     
  5. 5280droid

    5280droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    There has been some question on if you need to pay for the upgraded Yahoo to get yahoo on the Hero. I get Yahoo email just fine on the hero and have a regular yahoo account. I dont pay for a thing. Im assuming it will be the same for The Moment. Can anyone else chime in?
     
  6. Gremlyn1

    Gremlyn1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow, I just checked and their website says you have to use Mail Plus in order to use POP and it doesn't even seem that they offer IMAP. What a shite service they are running, no wonder everyone is bailing on them for Gmail.
     
  7. 5280droid

    5280droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    HHmmm.....does not make sense. Can anyone else get their yahoo with out paying for the PLUS service?? I cant be the only one.
     
  8. scotth501

    scotth501 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    I found this in another forum and saved it, haven't tried it though:

    I dont have a yahoo plus account and got it to work using these settings.

    Go to manual setup > IMAP account and change to these settings....

    INCOMING
    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 143
    security type - TLS (if available)

    OUTGOING
    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 25
    security type - TLS (if available)
    * check Require sign-in

    GL hope this helps.
     
  9. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    I know that I have my Yahoo working fine on my instinct without paying extra so I am curious if that is true. Guess I will find out soon. I believe I am making the leap to the Moment next paycheck. Now I just have to read up more on what Apps I want and what cools things I can do to it. :D
     
  10. azdiver

    azdiver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it but didn't work... I have a feeling that you will need to do the upgrade to yplus which really p's me off!! Went back and changed my passwrod hoping that little change might help but when you send in the info the first message you get is that it won't support some email accounts so... looks like it's either cough up another $20 a year or hope someone figures out a way around this and passes it on to everyone.
     
  11. Flipper

    Flipper Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    19
    It's a bit weird in how inconsistent accessing Yahoo mail can be.

    On my BB, I have no issues whatsoever having my Yahoo mail pushed to it (I don't have a paid account - just the free account).

    But when I switched to the Hero, there were issues with it accessing the Yahoo mail server - particularly between accessing it via WiFi vs. over the mobile network.

    I recently switched back to BB and am now in the process of waiting for my Moment to arrive (u like that?). And from reading people's experiences on the various forums, I'm guessing I'll be encountering the same issues with Yahoo on that as well.

    Because of all the issues with Yahoo, I'm sitting on the fence about switching to gmail all together but it would be such a hassle thinking about (and trying to remember) all of my online accounts that are linked to my Yahoo account, not to mention all of my personal stuff. But with the cr*p that Yahoo is pulling with trying to make us pay for email (remember the Aol fiasco when they did it? Where are they now?), it's getting a bit easier to make up my mind. :cool:
     
  12. chibucks

    chibucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    48
    Thanks! Worked for me.
     
  13. azdiver

    azdiver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well... I just tried the asia setting and that didn't work either! I am really starting to dislike this phone!~! :mad:
     
  14. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks alot worked perfect but i dont think it would be a problem to make a gmail account just dont use it
     
  15. azdiver

    azdiver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am starting to get a complex.... tried impa and it didn't work... tried the asia setting and it didn't work.... tried pop3 and no luck there.

    Maybe I got a phone with a software glitch??
     
  16. Weeton

    Weeton Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gmail isn't necessary to enjoy the phone, but I would highly recommend it. Basically, having gmail sync all my contacts is hands down the best feature. I had to hard reset my moment yesterday because of an EVDO issue. I lost all the contacts, but as soon as I logged into gmail, I got everything back in a matter of minutes.

    Keep your other emails, but I'd keep a gmail account just for that feature alone.
     
  17. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Can I just say I absolutely love this phone! Only had it 4 hours but I wouldn't change it at all. Everything so far works great. Still finding apps to download. I am going to wait on 2.0 before trying some of the Home apps for themes and what not but by far aboslutely satisfied with this phone. And google does have some nice features and I will probably use it more as time progresses.
     
  18. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    By the way the Imap Settigns for Yahoo work perfect for me! thanks!
     
  19. KeithKris

    KeithKris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    As an aside to anyone not using gmail, I've found that k9 mail (free on the market) is a better choice for pop3/imap mail. It's still missing a few features (searching messages, multiple select) but to me it's better than the stock email app.

    I'm hopeful that these features will be added soon. Some of us have business emails that we don't want stored in the "Google cloud."
     
  20. scarletslipper

    scarletslipper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    @latinmaxima: I like your enthusiasm! I'm not feeling it myself. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff. I have no problem setting up my yahoo mail, but I've had their paid Plus mail for years. What I can't figure out is where I can mass delete messages, where my folders are, where anything but my Inbox is.

    What do you think of the installed ringtones? I think they are poor quality and poor quantity. I looked in the Market for others, but they are all songs or voices; I just want some better sounds to select from.

    The installed Facebook app seems very limited. Maybe it's supposed to be that way. I logged in to the real FB site and found it a little over sensitive touchwise to use.

    It's highly possible, given that this is my first data phone (well, aside from the Hero which I turned back in due to the lack of physical keyboard), that my assumptions about it were wrong. I had in mind it would basically function the same way as a very tiny computer with the added benefit of a phone and it doesn't. To state it better, it functions AS a computer but not LIKE a computer. If that makes any sense.
     
  21. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    I don't like the installed ringtones but I use songs and what not. I agree that the facebook app is limited but I am usually on the computer for what I really need for facebook. Maybe i require minimal usage to be happy. Whatever the reason I think the Moment is top notch. I enjoy the newness and am still looking for more great stuff in the market place. It can be alot as a first data phone so good luck with figuring out the plus. I have the free and it works and my folders list is right there so...
     
  22. jtw2nd

    jtw2nd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me with yahoo mail regular service and on my hours old moment. I'm not sure if it is related but I did open a gmail account I don't plan on using.

    I'm not certain I entered everything properly before I opened the gmail account so it could have been operator error for the times I tried to do it.

    Thanks for the help everyone.
     
  23. scarletslipper

    scarletslipper Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    latinmaxima wrote: <i>It can be alot as a first data phone so good luck with figuring out the plus. I have the free and it works and my folders list is right there so...</i>

    That gave me exactly the hint I needed. As I said, I have Yahoo's Plus (pay) email and have for years (and have read by several others that you have to have it to get yahoo mail to function). AND I have also switched to the New Beta version of Ymail. When you said you have the free version, it tipped for me that maybe I should try the Mail Classic view. I reset the defaults so that the pop? Yahoo mail application I'd set up was erased. On my computer, I selected Mail Classic, not knowing if I could have two different versions running on my phone and computer (I can.) Then I went to real Yahoo mail through the phone browser, entered my user name and password and since I had the Classic view up on my computer, that's what showed up on my phone. YAY! ;-) All my folders, checkboxes to mass delete, calendar, everything was there and looked just like I accustomed to it looking. Then I accidentally clicked something else and noticed the address bar changed from yahoo.com/mail to, I think it was, m.yahoo.com, which I assumed meant mobile yahoo. All of a sudden the whole scheme changed. I backed out of mail and into Yahoo's homepage. I scrolled down to the bottom and noticed two options: mobile view and desktop view. I clicked desktop view and went back to mail. Again, it looked just like I wanted it to look. I hope that setting will remain, but if it doesn't, at least I know something to try in the future. Sorry to be so long-winded, but in case someone else has this same issue, I thought I'd type what worked for me. Thanks so much for your response!
     
  24. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    I actually had something odd happen last ngiht. Yahoo started giving me and error saying i was using the wrong name or password. This morning it started working again on its own. Not sure why. I will see what happens over the next few days. Also google synced my contacts by importing my csv file and it all worked great!
     
  25. azdiver

    azdiver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The same thing has been happening to me with ymail. After much frustration and setting it to asia (i only use classic view) I was able to access through imap. The next day it stopped working so I deleted it and set it up again and it worked. The following morning it stopped working but I was able to set it up using pop. Today I am getting the connection failed message again.

    Like some others, since it is long time business email I don't want to start migrating to another email. Just wish they could come up with a good fix or that yahoo gets enough complaints so they stop trying to block people from using it with a free account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...