Hope this is an easy fix...


Last Updated:

  1. TKazNC

    TKazNC Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi all! Made the plunge and rooted and installed a new ROM. Now using UD 2.3 but also tried SS 4.9. Here are some of the problems I am having:

    1. I like Launcher Pro but both of these ROMs seem to have an issue with it. Each time I turn off/on my droid I loose all the widgets on the home screens; they're replaced with the "trouble loading widget" message. I replace them and it happens each time I wake or reboot. ...My Droid actually :) [edit] I also use Quick Desk in addition to each launcher[/edit]

    2. I am a Locale user and it no longer launches (in the background) when I reboot or wake my droid. I use the Screeble plugin to keep the screen from sleeping and turn on/off WiFi when home or away, etc...

    3. Each time I wake my Droid it prompts me to set a default Launcher.

    I am betting that there is something I am missing that is causing all there issues. Is this "just the way it is" with custom ROMs or am I missing something?

    TIA!

    Tom
    Droid1, UD 2.3 with it's stock launcher (rooted via SuperOneClick and using ROM Manager) Missing my LP+ :-(
     

    Advertisement
  2. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    That's definitely not right. Sounds like something's not "sticking". Default launcher settings aren't sticking, Launcher Pro widgets aren't being called back up properly, startup items aren't being stored properly... I don't know what's up to be honest.

    I take it you do have root and it's functioning. Maybe try reinstalling the ROM? Did you do a wipe when you installed it? You should have wiped AT THE VERY LEAST data and cache. Ideally you would also wipe boot and system, but this would require installing the ROM through ClockworkMod as well instead of through ROM Manager.
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  3. TKazNC

    TKazNC Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, Shadow! Yes, I have root and it seems to be working (have superuser icon in app drawer). I'll reinstall over the weekend. Please forgive me if this is a dumb question; doesn't ROM Manager use CWM for flashing the ROM and b/u & restores? How do I use CWM by itself? Is that the Reboot into Recovery option on ROM Manager? I would assume so.

    New to this root/ROM thing and getting a bit overwhelmed when I run into troubles, this forum is great, thanks to all who have posted to these threads!!

    T
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    You can always access recovery by turning off the phone, holding the "x" button and powering it back on. This is the preferred method and you need to be able to do that in case of bootloop or some other reason you can't access ROM Manager.
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  5. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    You didn't, by chance, move your widgets to your SD card did you? If you did, that is the culprit behind the disappearing widgets.

    Just an idea, because I do know that moving your widgets to SD has this result.

    BigRedGonzo
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  6. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    I was just going to ask about the moving of widgets to the SD card. Also you should review the ROM that you are using and "delete" the stock launcher. SS 4.9 suggests doing this if you are using LP, and I think that it is a good practice.

    Also, make sure that your launcher is not on the SD card either. If you want to try out LFY 1.95, I came from SS 4.9 to it and love it. Also it has LP has a stock launcher instead of ADW.
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  7. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    I was just going to ask about the moving of widgets to the SD card. Also you should review the ROM that you are using and "delete" the stock launcher. SS 4.9 suggests doing this if you are using LP, and I think that it is a good practice.

    Also, make sure that your launcher is not on the SD card either. If you want to try out LFY 1.95, I came from SS 4.9 to it and love it. Also it has LP has a stock launcher instead of ADW.
     
  8. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yes, reboot into recovery or as chief said, hold down x while powering up. Then you can use the partitions menu in CWM to format boot, data, system, and cache (BE SUPER-EXTREMELY CAREFUL NOT TO FORMAT SDCARD HERE). Then pick install zip from SD card and you'll be shown a list of directories you have on your phone. ROM Manager downloads in a very confusing way; I believe clockworkmod/downloads is the folder where they get stored.

    I do this because I'm paranoid and like to start with a fresh system. Many people just wipe data and cache, which ROM Manager automates for you, and it works for them. Why Koush doesn't code it to also allow us to automate wiping of system and boot, I will never know. :rolleyes:
     
    TKazNC likes this.
  9. TKazNC

    TKazNC Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    WOW! I knew it was something stupid I did! All the issues were related to having the launcher, locale (plus plug-ins), and widgets on my SD card. Now I know why some things need to stay in main memory. Moved them over and all is well. MANY thanks to all that replied!

    A last question if I may; my apps with ads no longer load the ads I just get the spinning icon, what may be the cause? Not that I'm complaining but am wondering. Seems that the comm link to admob and others are disabled.
     
  10. TKazNC

    TKazNC Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm printing this one and saving it for future reference. Seems to be some GREAT advice. Thanks! Do you have recommended partition sizes or is it automatic?
     
  11. mobrienjr

    mobrienjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    27
    Glad that worked for you. This could be because of many reasons. Is adobe on your SD card? Do you have ads blocked through the ROM? Just to name a few...
     
  12. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Some ROMs block ads. I believe UD is one of them. If you ever want to block ads and a ROM doesn't let you, there's an app called AdFree in the Market (only for rooted users) that lets you do this, and can check every day for updates to the blacklist.

    No problem. It'll become second nature for you in a very short amount of time, I'm sure. :)

    Partitions are formatted automatically. You can also make a swap partition on your SD-card which is sort of like Windows virtual memory (Linux, which Android is based on, also uses swap partitions). I think it's called sd-ext in the partitions menu or something. I wouldn't recommend fooling around with your SD card without backing up all of your data to your computer first just in case you format it inadvertently, though. I don't have a swap partition set up, so I can't be of any assistance, but you may want to look into swap partitions if you're curious.
     

Share This Page

Loading...