Horizontal view homescreen?

1. carlspeed

carlspeed Active Member

Is there anyway that when I am in the home screen, I can get it to rotate if I turn the phone horizontal? It seems that in pretty much every screen the phone will rotate, except the home screen. Any ideas?

Advertisement
  2. THEFORCE

THEFORCE Well-Known Member

Sense won't but launcher pro will let you
    EarlyMon and carlspeed like this.
  3. carlspeed

carlspeed Active Member

I'm sorry, I'm new to the android stuff, what is exactly is launcher pro? (thanks by the way)
  4. THEFORCE

it is a different homescreen that makes it look less htc and more google like...you can find that and awd launcher in the market
  5. Novoken

Novoken Well-Known Member

I wonder if somewhere out there there is an app to have the stock screen go landscape
  6. THEFORCE

you can also choose how many screen you want....up to seven
  7. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

Doesn't the phone needed to be rooted for it to work? (Mine is, but I'm looking at Launcher Pro's website and forums and wanted to toss that out there for the OP's sake.)

Also, best to warn that the HTC widgets won't work with it (if I'm reading their forums correctly).

carlspeed - HTC Sense is an add-on to Android with a lot of features that some people love, some people don't.

"Rooting" comes from the unix name of granting superuser access - kinda like Administrator if you're used to Windows. The term applies to all Android phones.

When you root your phone, you replace all of it's stuff with stuff exactly like it except the rooted version gives you full Admin control to change, control and customize however you please.

And that means that you can replace things not only with an administrable copy of what you already have - you can change really important things, like complete look and feel.