Horrible Battery - Froyo 2.2 | After ResetSupport


Last Updated:

  1. bigmmike

    bigmmike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Even after a full reset (format); my 1750 battery can barely make it past 4pm, i'm in the red right now.

    No extra services running, i've got everything syncing the same way it did prior the update (my charge would last until 2am or so)

    Moderate usage; again, before the update My battery lasted from 8am to 2am.

    I wonder if Verizon mentioned anything?
     

    Advertisement
  2. smillerlsu

    smillerlsu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Let your phone drain completely, then charge fully, to attempt to recalibrate the battery... mine sucked after updating until I did this.
     
    UseMyDroid likes this.
  3. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    yeah, i have the same problem. it's froyo; it sucks on battery. i love how they advertise it as being a battery improvement, but in fact its' MUCH worse. my 1750 can't even make a full day now either. off the charger at 1:30pm today, and i'm at 60% now, 4 hours later. ridiculous.
     
  4. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    You specifically stated in another thread that you have tons of apps running, and keeping your phone awake. Please stop trying to blame Froyo. Yes, something from the update was probably the trigger...but it isn't something inherently wrong in Froyo. many of us have perfectly fine battery life, and you can bet the vast majority must too...else they would be covering this forum. ( Happy people usually don't bother posting here, but if they even so much as think the smallest thing is wrong they feel the need to go around every single thread and screaming to the world how this is worse than the plague. )
     
  5. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    actually, i didn't reinstall half of the apps that i had on there when i did a factory reset, as per your suggestion. my phone is not staying awake at all, it has very low up time actually. still no explanation for why my battery life is terrible. sorry, but froyo is clearly to blame here, as i had stellar battery life with 2.1.
     
  6. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Hmm..interesting. Are you seeing something roughly in the order of 11 hours unplugged and 2 hours awake with a dead battery under little use? 1 other person recently reported this, and I've never heard of such an extreme drain on the battery. I wonder if something else got really screwed up ( Similar to the people that had the earpiece stop working. )

    I still hold that it isn't specifically Froyo itself, but something that was triggered by the install. The fact that I and many others do not have this problem suggests there is some other factor. It could even be a minor defect in the phone itself that didn't affect things until Froyo changed something. ( In fact, now that I think about it... theres rumor that Froyo has some sort of tweak to the batteries charge cycle, and I wonder if this could be the source if true. )

    Also, have you seen:
    http://androidforums.com/incredible...-web-scrolling-fixed-update-flash-player.html
    ? I really doubt it would fix your problem, but it shouldn't hurt to try it.

    Finally: Can you give me as detailed of a run down on your battery usage info as possible?
     
  7. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    i actually just got the new flash update! figured i'd give it a shot anyway lol...

    right now, i'm fully charging it again. i've been rebooting/etc all day so my hours are all messed up. what i'm gonna do is fully recharge, bump charge to full 100%, then calibrate my battery left widget and see what i get, and tomorrow hopefully i can post some results. i've deleted system panel and ATK and i'm not killing ANY apps at all, so i'm giving that a shot as well.
     
  8. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Sounds like a good plan, lemme know how it goes. If you want to, you can PM me as I'm getting swamped trying to help everyone out, and I know I'm going to start missing stuff:(
     
  9. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    sounds good! i also thought that maybe *228 option 2'ing would help fix my weather widget "current location" bullshit...but it didn't :( it's still being random ugh
     
  10. JMKosmo

    JMKosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    333


    These are ALL the problems I am having right now too!
     
  11. jayochs

    jayochs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    89
    i wrote to HTC about the whole, weather widget thing....here's mine and their responses back and forth:

    Me: I have a Droid Incredible with Verizon Wireless. Ever since receiving the new 2.2 froyo update, my weather clock widget has not been working correctly. in 2.1, it would always pickup my location (a town named Brick, in NJ) Now, with 2.2, it shows "current location" which is quite annoying. I have deduced that it has something to do with signal strength and the fact it can't realize where I am while on the 3g network, even with four bars. however, once I turn on wifi, it automatically shows that I'm in brick. therefore, it seems to be a problem with the network not being able to understand my location like it used to. it also seems as if the weather given when it says current location is different than the weather for when it says Brick (it could be off by 5-7 degrees, and show different weather conditions such as cloudy). any help would be much appreciated!


    HTC: I can understand the frustration with not knowing if your weather is correct or not on your Droid Incredible. Make sure that Location is enabled. To enable Location, go to Home > Menu > Settings > Location. On this screen, you will see a check-box for allowing Wi-fi or Data connection (Use Wireless Networks) to detect Location, Location Settings (On/911 Only), and also a check-box for GPS Satelittes being able to detect your Location. For Location to detect properly, it needs to be ON, and the check box for allowing data connection to detect your Location needs to be checked. If Location is enabled, there may be a setting such as Auto-Sync or Background data that is not that does not allow the Weather/GPS to update itself. To ensure that this is working properly, go to Home > Menu > Settings > Accounts & Sync. Check the boxes for Auto-Sync and Background data. If the settings for allowing synchronization are set up correctly, the issue may be related to the Weather application itself. You want to make sure that the Weather application is set up to Update Automatically. To do this, go to Weather. Tap Menu > Settings > Check Update Automatically. You can also change the frequency at which it updates to the user's personal preference. You can also, go to Menu > Settings > Applications > Development > Uncheck Allow Mock Locations.


    Me: can't find my response but something about, i did all of that already.


    HTC: The next step would be a Hard Reset on the device. A hard reset removes all information from your device and returns it to a state just like it has never been used before. All contacts, messages, emails, third-party applications, etc. will need to be reinstalled after performing a hard reset. To perform a hard reset, from the Home screen tap Menu > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset. Follow the on-screen prompts to complete. This process will take 5-10 minutes.


    Me: something about how i already did THAT too haha


    HTC: I have looked into this issue, and found that this issue does occur sometimes when accuweather cannot pinpoint your exact location. Is there anyway you can travel outside of your area, about a 2 hour distance and see if the issue occurs in that location. It may be a little while before you do this, but it will help in the troubleshooting steps.



    Me: Told them how I already did that, and like an hour away everything shows up fine, and refreshes correctly town by town.

    HTC:Then since that does occur, it seems that accuweather is having an issue finding your city id, but we have agents here that have seen this as well and after a few days the issue has been resolved.


    Me: It's still occuring. For example, since rebooting my phone it said Brick, NJ and it showed sunny with clouds. Then, it updated to the moon with clouds, but it said Brick still. Then out of nowhere, it updated again, still moon with clouds, but it now says Current Location. So I went into the widget, i hit refresh, and when it refreshed the Sun with clouds was back and it said Current Location. I don't get what's going on here.


    HTC: Accuweather is in charge of the weather so at this time we can only wait and see if the issue will resolve itself or if this is something accuweather will be updating.



    and that's that. lol no help at all
     
  12. bigmmike

    bigmmike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    The weird thing is, I checked to see if any apps were staying awake and nothing was staying awake... i'm assuming froyo is handling the cpu differently... I mean, if it's faster it means the cpu is keeping at a higher frequency for longer times (many users reported this), it does come back down, but it's staying up higher and longer than 2.1 (So we get the speed boost, but we pay it with battery life)
     
  13. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Actually the speed boost in 2.2 is mostly from the JIT compiler which reduces the number of processing applications require, as well as just optimized code with the same effect. Both of these will actually allow the CPU to wind DOWN more than before ( and hence the potential for improved battery life. ) However, there are numerous issues cropping back and possibly something new, that result in a greater decrease than the increase.

    First, try the flash update:
    Get the Official Flash 10.1 Release for Installation on any Phone Running Android 2.2 | Android Phone Fans

    which should help things considerably any time flash is displayed.

    Also, can you post detailed battery usage information so we can try and see what is going on? It is NOT normal for 2.2 to use more battery, so there is something wrong ( and hopefully fixable ).
     
  14. Bettie Does Droid

    Bettie Does Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the OTA update a couple of days ago & my only problem is rapid battery drain with very minimal usage, I only had a couple of calls today- no texting no web surfing - I've charged the phone all night last night hoping that might fix it - it didn't. If I let the battery completely drain & charge it overnight, do you think that might reset the battery. I've done a soft reset & don't really want to do a factory reset, unless that's the last resource. Any help or suggestions would be very grateful. I've had the phone when it first came out & really enjoy it, but not being able to get a full 10 hrs of good battery life is getting to me!:eek:
    Thanks!
     
  15. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    It all really depends on what the actual cause of the drain is for you. If you could provide as much of the battery usage information as possible it would really help. Awake time, unplugged time, up time, percents that different things used your battery, and it would even be awesome if you could post voltage from when the battery was full and just before dead.

    If you need help finding any of this, just PM me.
     
  16. blight007

    blight007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issues. I Updated via OTA 3 days ago and my battery drains in 4 hours. Did a factory reset and *228 and now my 3g will not work? If I put the phone in airplane mode and take it out 3g pops up for a min or two then back to voice and text messages only. Called Verizon and they are sending me a new/refurb Unit. I run a small business and have a businees account with Verizon and this is unacceptable. My phone and Battery (9-10hrs) were great with 2.1.
     
  17. blight007

    blight007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update!!! Now my wifes dinc does not have 3g and her battery drains quick as well. We are in West Texas anyone having the same issues?
     
  18. MidnightRun

    MidnightRun Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had the battery drain problems for the first two days after the OTA...but now, today, so far its been better. Perhaps it needed to recalibrate itself?

    Still takes forever to charge, though.
     
  19. clipperqb

    clipperqb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    100
    My battery was at about 45% I put it on charger (left on) 2 hours later it's at 65%.
     
  20. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Unacceptable? I'm sorry, but they are replacing your phone and that is unacceptable? What more could you want from them, gold? Land? Ownership in the company? I'd say replacing a defective unit is pretty much right on with what I would expect. Shit happens, nothing is flawless, and there will always be bad things that happen. It's the way people react to these things that really defines things, and I'd say VZ is reacting properly.

    Very sorry to hear about the double hit...it is a known issue.( though so far it seems to be extremely rare. ) Theres a few threads about it, though theres no known specific cause ( I mean exact cause. Thousands of people have gotten Froyo and only a few reports of this issue have cropped up, so theres something that happened to them specifically that is unknown. )...and unfortunately you have found the only solid solution so far. Theres a few tricks that can help to get it to work temporarily, but any time you restart your phone it will be back. ( Toggling in and out of airplane mode is the only one I can think of off hand. You can try searching the forums for a couple others. )
     
  21. dillion3384

    dillion3384 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issues, except when I take it off the battery drains like crazy, like today it dropped 15% in 8-10mins, while sitting in my pocket.
     
  22. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    My phone has drained 60% in 2 hours awake time with 90% split between standby and android system.

    ...

    I just did *288 and now my phone is in the red after it reset. This makes no sense. wtf is going on here.

    I've wiped battery stats, cache, done factory reset, have low awake time...
     
  23. breathmints

    breathmints Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeha my battery dont last long.. on the 3g network for like 2 or 3 hours..and phone can barely last afterwards
     
  24. jelsikstern

    jelsikstern Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    give it a couple of days....mine did that for the first few days after updating to 2.2. battery life and time-to-charge still sucks...
     
  25. jelsikstern

    jelsikstern Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    same battery issues here since update to 2.2 (even after factory reset):

    1. battery drains MUCH faster
    2. charge is 3-4 times slower

    ANYONE HAVE A FIX??
     

Share This Page

Loading...