Hotmail Exchange Activesync


Last Updated:

  1. Hilly

    Hilly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm trying to find out the Hotmail Exchange server setting in the hope that it will start working prior to the official rollout. I know they started the wave 4 rollout today. They've said it will be rolled out in pieces and isn't due to finish until August but they don't give any idea to who will get which features when.

    So if you find out the exchange setting for Hotmail / Windows Live Mail post them here.

    The new Hotmail is rolling out now!
     

    Advertisement
  2. lolbug

    lolbug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    9
    Also want to know plz.. Maybee someone has the new version and look for the settings
     
  3. Hilly

    Hilly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
  4. Profete162

    Profete162 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work for me.

    I have a very old Hotmail account ( 12 years) qith an @hotmail.com adress and that doesn't work.


    Any workaround?

    (PS: Does FroYo accept multiple exchange account? Maybe that's the problem because I already have a exchange link to my GMail account)
     
  5. drtechy

    drtechy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not all accounts have been upgraded to the latest hotmail yet. That's why you get reports of it working for some and not others. I'm still waiting for mine to be upgraded. It does seem that Froyo supports multiple exchange accounts though since it allows me to try and configure another.
     
  6. vetvipe

    vetvipe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    bump. Has anyone been able to get this working??? It doesnt seem to work for me.
     
  7. Hilly

    Hilly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    I finally got it to work...

    In the email app enter your email and password, then select Manual Setup ( NOT next). The Hotmail exchange settings are

    username: XXXXX@hotmail.com
    some email apps need the username to have a \ in front e.g. \xxxx@hotmail.com
    password: <your password>
    server: m.hotmail.com

    Check: "Use secure connection (SSL)"
    Uncheck: "Accept all SSL certificates"

    FYI, I could not get the HTC mail app to work with the Hotmail Exchange server. I downloaded Improved Email from the Android Market market (there is a free version). It supports exchange better and you can sync your entire mailbox (not just 1 month back). I don't like that it doesn't support HTML email and doesn't have a widget. Some suggestions of other email apps would be appreciated.

    Keith
     
  8. mvh

    mvh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just set it up with Improved Email and it worked. it never worked using the HTC app or K9.

    Sadly, improved email does not have a widget...
     
  9. dstrack

    dstrack New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    First day with my Droid X... I do like the device however I've been more of a Hotmail/Live/Outlook user than Gmail. I imported all my cal/contacts/etc into Google so now I have that in the cloud. I figured I'd try to see if I could get this ActiveSync working as well. Looks good - I have it right in my Messaging App with the blue Corporate Email icon "Hotmail". Contacts and Calendar seem to be sync'ing as well. All good there. There is no way to get the Hotmail Corp Email icon onto the Home page? Similar to the Gmail icon? Lame :-(

    The other question I have is that when I go into Calendar I see three different iterations of dstrack <at> hotmail <dot> com - all are sync'ed and visible. What's up with that? I'm assuming I must have three different calendars at Hotmail/Windows Live Calendar? Which I don't remember doing but I'll have to login and check that out (at work now and blocked).
     
  10. rafo25

    rafo25 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0


    it`s work
     

Share This Page

Loading...