Hotspot ONLY on 4G?!?


Last Updated:

  1. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just got off the phone with a Sprint Customer Care Specialist who kept insisting on telling me that I could only use the hotspot option if I had a 4G signal
     

    Advertisement
  2. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    If you don't have access to a Wimax network I would advise against even buying the Sprint Hotspot service. The only advantage it offers as of now is that it will share a Wimax connection via Wifi. If you want to share EVDO over Wifi then you have plenty of much less expensive options available.
     
  3. mrk

    mrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    135
    It's not right, no. Not at all.
     
  4. snapbox

    snapbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    29
    One of the guys from Engadget said this was the case... think I heard it on their most recent podcast.

    But then again I've heard the exact opposite from other sources, so I guess we'll have to wait for an EVO owner to respond...
     
  5. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    I wouldn't even attempt it on 3G anyway. Don't have that much time left in a day or my life.
     
  6. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Incorrect.. I am trying to find the review but they were using 3G only because they were in a non-4g area. I want to say it was CNET because they are in New York

    Update: wasn't Cnet... They drove to Philly to test it. They said briefly that they switched to 3G after testing the 4g hotspot but it isn't clear if they were testing the hotspot on 3G
     
  7. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    In all honesty, I'm probably going to go with a free option anyway. I just wanted to find out from her specifically how the billing would work if I were to go with the "official" Sprint option (could I easily add and remove the service depending on my needs, etc.) only to be told that I could not get the service because I am in NYC and NYC doesn't officially have 4G and that it would not work over 3G. I then asked her about the scenario of having it when NYC does have 4G officially available and I was in a building that had spotty 4G coverage that I would be able to still use the hotspot even if the EVO might be switching between 4G and 3G and she said absolutely not, that it would only work if the phone was receiving a solid 4G signal.

    But on the subject of "plenty of other options," are there any that I could use to create a wifi hotspot with the phone that doesn't involve rooting?
     
  8. snapbox

    snapbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    29

    EVDO Rev. A isn't THAT bad... no streaming media but it's good enough to surf around.

    Isn't it funny how we've all become so used to fast connections? I remember 14.4k (sigh).
     
  9. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    My main reason for wanting the hotspot would be to be able to continue using apps on my iphone (via the EVO enabled hotspot) that are not yet available on Android. A 3G powered hotspot would be enough for that.
     
  10. snapbox

    snapbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    29
    Remember... there are reps that don't have a clue. One of these such reps told a friend of mine today that 4G wouldn't be available in Miami until late 2011, and she referenced a memo that was sent out a few days ago... yet I messaged a PR rep for sprint yesterday and was told "Miami 4G will officially launch sometime this summer/fall".
     
  11. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Yeah. I guess I always choose to forget it if I can't go at max speed. I only see myself doing it with my laptop trying to either get a very large file or to stream.

    I'm in the camp of I'll be saving so much after switching from ATT that most things won't matter. I don't like the $29.99 at all, but since I'd really only be using in a situation where I'd be writing it off as a biz expense, it's not a deterrent. If I do need to hotspot though, I'd only do it on 4G. Otherwise I'd go pay for access to a fast network rather than via 3G.

    I wish everything was high speed, and I did everything I could to avoid the web when it was dial-up even up to 56k.:)
     
  12. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Here is the review. With an actual picture of the Hotspot software launching and it says 3G/4g. They also tested the hotspot on 3G

    HTC Evo 4G Review - Mobile Hotspot, Messaging, Cam, & Camcorder

    Also if you read about the 4g service not wowing them... They are in New York... sprint doesn't have 4g there so they actual never tested 4g. If you turn 4g on in an area without it it just uses 3G
     
    TheBlackPrince and nycbhh like this.
  13. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks Sikclown, I was SURE I had read that was the case. Thanks for the confirmation.

    Now I just need to figure out if I can do a hotspot without paying the Sprint fee and without rooting :D
     
  14. jacker

    jacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    8
    PDANET is your friend nycbhh.


    Look around for it. *whistles*
     
  15. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I thought PDAnet was only for USB tethering (and I don't think I could connect an EVO and an iPhone via USB). Can PDAnet create a wifi hotspot? That would be very cool if it can :)
     
  16. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Your welcome... Feel free to hit thanks on my post :) haha. Umm yeah PDAnet works great for tethering via USB (never tried Bluetooth) but I think the only way to do it wirelessly in 2.1 is to root and then download a program that does it (requires root)
     
  17. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was afraid of that. I've jailbroken my iphone and that was fairly easy, but I've glanced at rooting instructions of other Android phones and it sounds complicated. In fact, truth be told, I have no idea what some of the instructions even mean, so I'm a bit nervous about it.
     
  18. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Nah if you search around the forums there are some very easy instructions on rooting a device. Of course it depends on the device but Rooting my Hero was easy as jail breaking my iPad
     
    nycbhh likes this.
  19. nycbhh

    nycbhh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Good to know. Guess I know what I'll be doing then :)
     
  20. alamoe

    alamoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    21
    if u think rooting looks hard now you should see how it was done when I got my first Android (G1) LOL. it's much easier now, just look around. heck, as easy as it was to root my N1 it seems like they want you to root these phones LOL. just make sure there are no hardware issues first



    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
  21. robertdahlgren

    robertdahlgren Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    127
    Just tested it out to confirm. My droid connects just fine to the wireless evo hotspot whether I have 4g enabled or disabled (and it is displaying 3G when the 4G radio is disabled and the hotspot is enabled).
     
  22. robertdahlgren

    robertdahlgren Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    127
    I just canceled my $60 / month sprint unlimited 3G data laptop modem to go with the evo as a hotspot replacement for only the extra $30 / month. It's going to save me $30 / month and I have access to 4G. My previous plan was to get one of the battered powered 4G sprint wireless hotspots. Glad I didn't as I'd be stuck on a 2-year plan with it.... The only drawback seems to be I might pickup the 5 GB / month limit now (I was grandfathered in from an old plan with no monthly quota).
     
  23. misticjeff

    misticjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    19
    If you have an EVO and choose the HotSpot feature for $29.99mo then it is unlimited service, there is no cap!
     
  24. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    This is direct from Sprint's info packet on the EVO
     
  25. robertdahlgren

    robertdahlgren Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    127
    Correct. My friend at sprint says currently there is no limit and definitely will be no 4G limit, but they may end up putting the 5 GB limit on 3G data depending how actual usage patterns and network congestion turns out. Hopefully we can all be grandfathered in on unlimited if we complain though.
    It took a fair bit of complaining with my original Sprint 3G laptop modem which was unlimited in the marketing terms and contract on Sprint when they introduced the 5 GB cap.
     

Share This Page

Loading...