1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Hotspot?General


Last Updated:

  1. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just tried my hotspot on a laptop can't connect to certain site but connects to specify carp like that any help
     

    Advertisement
  2. euphan1555

    euphan1555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    21
    its a paid service for the $50 and $60 plan.just be happy it lets you connect to anything since you aint paying for it.
     
  3. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8

    Actually I'm still on the 70
     
  4. Flablitz

    Flablitz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    48
    There is a thread already for this.
     
  5. euphan1555

    euphan1555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    21
    dont think you understood what i said.you can only get the hotspot paid service to open up all sites on the $50 and $60 plan.if you are on the unlimited plans you can not add the hotspot to your plan but for whatever reason you can still connect to a few sites.
     
  6. cjbandroid

    cjbandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    11
    Once you root the phone... (ahem)... you can use Barnacle to provide 4G services to your tablet, PC or local network. I've done that - as a test - with my Optimus-M (before it was stolen). Slow at 3G speeds, but with the Motion, it should rock if you get a good connection.

    Barnacle is an easy to use program... once you're rooted.
     
  7. old_member

    old_member Guest

    Foxfi , Barnacle , Wifi Tether , PDAnet , All of these work great on any phone , of course allmost always 1 only will work , Bluetooth mode is better and stable for internet , but that is just a opinion but it is harder to set up for me (Running my freakin Windows 8 Consumer Preview , Never got Windows 8 Pro Yet , Or tested Windows 9 Exclusive Devoloper Edition)
    Windows 8 is hard to set up with bluetooth , anyways , try many programs with root AND you WILL find out , Go Fellow Motioner (Getting my motion today! , Hard to wait!)
     
  8. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8

    The reason there is no plan for the unlimited is THAT YOU PAY FOR UNLIMITED.
     
  9. euphan1555

    euphan1555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    21
    i know all of that and i use pdanet on this phone and every smartphone i had since the optimus v.

    i was just trying to explain to the guy why he is only getting a few websites on the built in hotspot feature out of the box.
     
  10. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8

    It did the same thing to someone I know on YouTube for the lightray
     
  11. ginmichaelvodk

    ginmichaelvodk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    See the other thread 'hotspot???' The problem is with user agent on the PC's browser. Easy fix.
     
  12. polywood223

    polywood223 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    8

    Using the app can't find specific I'll try though
     
  13. THE W

    THE W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    242
    Just like with the connect, Switch your UA and you're golden except you don't need a third party app this time around.

    Worked for me.
     
    polywood223 likes this.
  14. zasvier89

    zasvier89 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    How can I switch the user agent on google chrome?
     
  15. THE W

    THE W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    242
    Search ua switch for chrome on Google.
     
    zasvier89 likes this.
  16. zasvier89

    zasvier89 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got it to work! wow this is pretty fast for tethering works great im using PDA NET
     
  17. THE W

    THE W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    242
    You should be able to tether using the native hotspot function of the phone but hey if it ain't broke don't fix it.

    Enjoy.
     
  18. ChristTheSon

    ChristTheSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have been using Easy Tether Pro to tether with and it works like a charm. I didnt root my phone either so is that plus or minus lol?
     

Share This Page

Loading...