Hotspot


Last Updated:

  1. jadoe05

    jadoe05 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just a reminder, look it up if you want as I can't remember where I saw it, but the hotspot app is free for now. Sprint said they were going to fix it sometime in july.

    On a sidenote, battery issues my ass. lol. I accidentally fell asleep last night ater turning the hotspot on in 4G (which works great right in my house) I was downloading a few movies and apps(quite a few lol) on my pc When i woke up 8hrs later the battery was just getting to 15%(from full charge) and to my surprise the phone wasn't on fire just a little warm.
     

    Advertisement
  2. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    fyi, the HotSpot does NOT work on 3G, only 4G (sucks I don't have 4G at my house(Skokie, Il) but it is at full bars couple of houses down :( - have it at my office though (Niles, Il) )
     
  3. jadoe05

    jadoe05 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    34
    Well just take your laptop to your office buddy :)
     
  4. septro

    septro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    39
    FYI - You lie like a rug.

    I'm typing this message on my laptop using the WiFi hotspot on 3G (no 4G in Columbus).
     
  5. jadoe05

    jadoe05 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    34
    That isinteresting because when I have the hotspot on i can't even use 4th on my phone. My guess is either you arent using sprints hotspot app or you are paying the thirty dollar fee.
     
  6. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    well, all I can say is that :

    1. I did not subscribe to the Hotspot feature (pay the $30)
    2. I connected my IPod touch over the HotSpot to my EVO at the office over 4G and browsed and used the speedtest just fine
    3. I tried connecting my Ipod touch to my EVO over the hotspot at home (3G) multiple times and it connects after putting in the password but I cannot browse or get online

    so, no it DOES NOT work for me on 3G
     
  7. septro

    septro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    39
    Im using Sprint's HotSpot app and pay $29 dollar fee. It was previously stated that the 'free' hotspot for the month of July would only work on 4G.

    You likey 3G hotspot? you payey $29 bucks. It saves me $30 from my Verizon broadband service so it the cheapest option out there (don't say root cuz no one has it yet).
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. acipollo

    acipollo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm in NY, and it works on 3g just fine..
     
  9. bluehaze013

    bluehaze013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hotspot works great for me on 3g, no 4g here yet :( It won't work however unless you pay for it LOL I tried to get it to work all day kept getting Data Call Failure wrong username and PW or some similiar error so I went to Sprints website logged into my account added the Hotspot to my plan and instantly it started working.

    Seems like the hotspot phones home to check if your paying for it before it will allow an Internet connection or something and thats what the Data Call Failure error is.
     
  10. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    if you pay the $30 sure it does
     
  11. jadoe05

    jadoe05 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ummm...that's definitely not true buddy. I rooted my phone last night.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-evo-4g/91831-www-unrevoked-com-went-live.html
     
  12. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    to clear up:

    if you pay the $30.00 per month,

    you can use the hotspot feature in 1Xrtt, 3G and 4G.

    if you do NOT pay or not subscribing to the hotspot feature being offered by sprint,

    you can ONLY use it on 4G.
     
  13. septro

    septro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    39
  14. jadoe05

    jadoe05 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    34
    Uh. No buddy. You didn't read my post. I stated that 3g in sprints hotspot app doesn't work unless u pay the fee. However there are several apps that do allow free WiFi when rooted, I have no need for them yet tho. And that I don't have to prove its been constantly discussed on this forum.
     
  15. FlyboyJr

    FlyboyJr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are there any Hotspot apps out yet for non-rooted phones?
     
  16. Dracostian

    Dracostian Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had to call in and get it added to get the hotspot to work in 3G. Error 67, which is usual for Sprint phones attempting to be used for Internet in 3G. If you're getting Hotspot to work in 3G without calling in or rooting, I think you have a lucky phone. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...