1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How accurate is the GPS

Last Updated:

1. desrosiers13

desrosiers13 Member This Topic's Starter

im totally new to the G1, coming from an iphone, but my gps when on (and can actually get a signal lock), seems to always have me on the grass or in the water if driving my any. Its rarely ever where I am. and im in a major city. Perhaps that could be why, but i always have clear view to the sky.

just seeing how it works for other folks.
    thanks

dave

Advertisement
  2. Swizz

Swizz Well-Known Member

Your situation is not unheard of. Personally, I've never run into this issue and my location is always spot on. What I would try first is a factory reset of your phone; if that doesn't solve your issue, call your wireless carrier and ask for a warranty exchange.

3. desrosiers13

desrosiers13 Member This Topic's Starter

i have tried the factory reset already. im only 5 days into my trial period. i would really hate to have to turn in my phone due to all the personalization done (apps, email, bookmarks etc).

are you sure it is a hardware issue?

4. justjimjpc

justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

You might delete any apps that you downloaded that use GPS.
    then With the Phone ON pull the battery and the SIM ... wait a minute and
    reboot ....
    The try Google MAPS (outside with clear sky) and see how good a fix you get ...
    if no good then...

Like Swizz says ... your first best option is a Factory Reset ... this will clear many firmware hangups and reinstall them as they were designed to be..

If that doesnt work then you will need to get a replacement ...

5. punkzanyj

punkzanyj Well-Known Member

first, I'm not sure what you mean by "the grass or the water". GPS is only accurate up to so many feet. It's not going to get you at your exact millimeter on the ground.