How are AT&T and T Mobile Galaxy S owners doing?


Last Updated:

  1. dyh

    dyh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    I quickly glanced at those forums, but didn't spend a whole lot of time reading.

    It seems some people had issues with defective phones that needed replacing, sometimes multiple times. I don't see that as ultimately a problem with the phone though, such as a design flaw that can't be fixed without more R&D.

    From time to time I see people posting something along the lines of "I'll never buy another Samsung product again" due to lack of support issues, or whatever, on some of the newer phone models. Personally, I had an i730 and it was the best phone you could get during its time.

    Has anyone closely followed what the AT&T and T Mobile Galaxy S owners are saying?

    The main gripe I've heard is that there's a GPS software issue for some users, but there's supposed to be a workaround, and supposedly a fix in an update.

    Also, 2.2 is confirmed for all US Galaxy S variants.
     

    Advertisement
  2. rasstar

    rasstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know. Check out their boards to find out.
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    The Vibrant and Captivate are both experiencing severe GPS malfunction. Along with other Galaxy S phones around the world on various carriers. I suspect if samsung does not release a fix ASAP, then the Epic 4g will have the same GPS problem.

    Interesting links:
    Where's the GPS fix for the Samsung Vibrant and Captivate? -- Engadget Mobile

    Samsung Officially Says Vibrant GPS Fix On The Way | TmoNews - Unofficial T-Mobile Blog - News, Videos, Articles and more

    https://twitter.com/Samsungservice/status/19861814931
     
  4. dyh

    dyh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for those links. At least they're working on a fix. I hope it's just a software and not a hardware issue.

    Also, does the workaround only work for some users? It seems pretty easy to implement.
     
  5. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    The xda developers fix isn't a fix. For many people it didn't resolve the GPS issue.
     
  6. dyh

    dyh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. flynlow

    flynlow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    21
    And it did. GPS is a function I rely on so I made sure to check that. That is one reason I mentioned it in my original post referenced above. I had heard about Samsung GPS issues in general and since it would definitely be a deal breaker for me. I don't know if the Sprint software dept tweaked the settings or what but the one I used worked perfectly. It locked on practically immediately and held lock the time I had it on. It found my location in probably 15-20 seconds.
     
    dyh likes this.
  8. MarvinTheParanoidAndroid

    MarvinTheParanoidAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's good to hear, Fly. Did you get a chance to take it out on the road?
     
  9. dyh

    dyh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, I definitely need it to work too. That's half of the phone's function for me; navigation.
     
  10. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    Buy a Garmin GPS and be done with it. :)
     
  11. MarvinTheParanoidAndroid

    MarvinTheParanoidAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Garmin GPS (an old StreetPilot). When I visited my BIL this past spring, he was using his phone for navigation as we drove around Memphis (I have tried that on my BB Curve but it sucks) so I just kinda chuckled. I asked what kind of phone? "Android" (on T-Mobile, not sure what model). And it seemed to work out pretty good for him.

    So I went into my spiel about how I thought the ideal GPS would tie into Google so if you see something interesting on the map, you could just click the hyperlinks and it would pop-up a web browser with more info. "Oh, you mean like this?" (click!)

    Needless to say, I was flabbergasted. "Look, it was satellite view, too". That's when I realized how far behind the "curve" my BlackBerry and Garmin really were. (yes I know Garmin's new products can do similar, but you have to pay yet another service fee on top of the really expensive device).

    So I've been patiently waiting for my renewal to come up on Sprint (it has come and gone), and now for the Epic, as it appears more appealing than the Evo.
     
  12. DILands

    DILands Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    143
    I see absolutely no reason to invest more money in another device called a GPS. The phone - with Sprint Nav, or Google Nav works just fine. One less reason for someone to break-in to my car.
     
  13. MarvinTheParanoidAndroid

    MarvinTheParanoidAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you use GPS on your BB 8530 (Curve)? Or do you intend to do that with the Epic?
     
  14. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    73
    My girls Vibrant has GPS issues indeed. It takes a long time to lock on to your position, and then when it does, it is not always accurate. I am hoping this will be fixed with a future update.
     
  15. flynlow

    flynlow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yes we did. He had some software running that tracks satellites in view, how many have lock and a bunch of scrolling numbers that meant nothing to me. I did see though that we had up to 9 in view and no less than 3 locked. Seems if I remember right, we usually had 7 in view and 4 locks. This was a fairly short , maybe 20 mile (?) trip. Ran the Sprintnav interface home and it gave exact, on time voice by voice well ahead of turns. Even gave us a traffic update of an accident on an off ramp, we were at the accident before the police or any "emergency" vehicle. It was an Escalade so my BIL said onstar most likely reported it. At any rate, it worked perfectly fine while I was there.

    Again, if it didn't, I wouldn't even consider it. That is one thing I DO need in a device. My EVO GPS works just as well as that did.
     
  16. dyh

    dyh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great to hear! And I agree that it's a must that it work.

    I wouldn't be willing to buy a standalone GPS device when a phone should have that functionality, and has extra features from Google's cloud services etc.

    I've been using a phone for GPS navigation for years, even when I had to buy a keychain GPS receiver and pair it to the phone with bluetooth. If there are problems with the Galaxy S line then Samsung needs to fix the issues, especially if they claim to be on it.
     
  17. flynlow

    flynlow Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    21
    Not saying that I know anything but it is most likely that Sprint is 'upgrading' the GPS software in the Epic and making certain that it does work perfectly. They have been burned before and they are well aware of it. Sprint is making the move to be THE android provider. The network and infrastructure run by Ericsson has bought into android. Just saying, I don't know this as *fact*. The GPS works. Get one and find out on your own.
     
  18. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    Ahhh yes that google maps app is cool. I tinkered with it briefly on a MotoDroid. I guess I had the Instinct navigation in my head. Piece of crap compared to a Garmin. But definitely the google maps app is a much better option than a Garmin. I've just had one since 2007 and can't live without it now. lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...