how can i get a 3g signal at work without a wireless router.HELP


Last Updated:

  1. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] how can i get a 3g signal at work without a wireless router.HELP
    At my work, i do not get no 3g signal on my phone. Also my job does not allow wireless routers/ wifi.
    In my work room we have plenty of computers with internet connection.
    Is there anyway i can get a 3g signal connecting my phone to the computers with internet connection?

    my old windows phone. i was able to connect it with a usb cable and i was able to get 3g.

    Any advice will be appreciated.
    i really need 3g on my phone at work. REALLY BAD NEED IT.

    Is there anyway i can get a 3g signal connecting my phone to the computers with internet connection?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Johnny Alien

    Johnny Alien Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    15
    3G from a computer?

    Whatever you are talking about sounds like a ticket to firedsville.
     
  3. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    You can't get a 3G signal on your phone unless you can get a signal in your office. I have no idea how you were hooking your WinMo phone into your computer and getting a 3G signal on the phone. That makes no sense. The two aren't related at all.
     
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Exactly.

    The only way I see this working, is if you have a computer that has wifi built in, and you use that as a hotspot, bridge the ethernet to the wifi, and connect your phone to that.
     
  5. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    What device are you using? What carrier do you have? Some carriers have femtocells (also called network extender, microcell, airrave for their respective carriers) which you could connect to your router (doesn't need to be wireless) which would in turn basically be a mini personal cell tower. That's pretty much the only option I see.
     
  6. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    To me it almost sounds like Droiderg was somehow tethering from a WinMo phone to an office computer and getting Internet access through the computer.

    Come to think of it this might actually be possible because I recall that Micro$oft ActiveSync does establish an IP connection to the phone. Now the question is how did the computer function as a software router unless the computer had an IP address in the same subnet as was provided to the phone?
     
  7. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    I'm not sure why you are wanting to get the Internet on your phone through your computer. If you're on your computer you can get email, documents, web browsing, etc... much more conveniently than a phone. I never check my email on my phone when I'm sitting right at my computer.
     
  8. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    369
    I think he is saying that he was actually able to make calls and receive texts through the business's internet. I know they make routers for this reason )to give you signal where you don;t normally have it). This is basically just glorified voip I believe. That said, I have never heard of just plugging it in like that. I have only heard of the specific routers mentioned above that give this functionality.
     
  9. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    No somehow about it, WM supports 'reverse tethering' via USB and has done for a long time.
     
  10. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    I used to do this with my pc and a plam pilot could use cable or BT, just needed a prog to do the nat. I havent seen anything like that for android, honestly havent looked real hard either.
    I guess the bigger question is why do you REALLY REALLY need it? If you NEED it for work I'm sure the IT dept could light your phone up on their wireless. If you need it for facebook your gonna have to do some digging and find a program that can do the network address translation and risk being fired for installing non-standard software as I don't think there is anything you can do natively on android.
     
  11. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Exactly, I used to use USB to surf the net on my old WinMo 6.1 device all the time. (I didn't have a data package) This is probably one of the nifty little features MS destroyed with WinMo 7 :(


    I haven't seen anything that allows this on Android...
     
  12. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was getting a signal from the computer that was making the phone get 3g.
    dont know how but my phone had 3g all the time.
     
  13. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i used my winMO phone for a year and a half everyday and nothing happen. yes the phone did get alittle hot but nothing fired.

    Can you fry your android phone if you wireless tether for a long time. say like 6 hours?

    thanks
     
  14. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    No built in wifi.

    what does it mean to bridge the ethernet?

    thanks
     
  15. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Verizon.
    Is the femtocells free?
    also i think the IT department would be happy about me connect that probably.

    thanks
     
  16. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes thats right. but my Winmo phone did not wireless tether. i was just getting a signal when i was wired to the computer and check my email and my favorite webpages.
     
  17. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    No, you're getting the Internet, not 3G. When you say you're getting 3G from your computer, it's very confusing.
     
  18. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    The room that i work in is a football size room and iam not near the computer all the time.

    My phone is rooted. So i want to wiresless tether to my itouch streaming music while i move around. get me?
     
  19. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right.
    thanks
     
  20. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont need it for Work. I want to get a signal on my phone(rooted) so i can wireles tether to my itouch and receive stream music.

    I would offer paypal cash if anybody finds a way to do this. $10 to $20 paypal cash.

    really need THis.
     
  21. droiderg

    droiderg Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a usb adapter/flash stick that can send wifi signals like a wireless router?
     
  22. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    I believe you can do this with the new Sense Rom from INCDoes. Send me the $$$$.

    Edit:

    You sure enough can. Check it out:

    [​IMG]

    Pair that with wifi tether and you're probably in business.
     
  23. Johnny Alien

    Johnny Alien Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    15
    No I mean...fired.

    Hooking a personal device to a work computer for the sole purpose of streaming music for personal use would get someone instantly fired at my place of employment.
     
  24. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    No, you were getting the Internet, but not 3g. Your computer is not a 3g tower.

    I'm not sure you know what you are asking. If you just use the wifi to get internet on your phone, no, it wont over heat. If you use wireless tether to share your internet with other devices, yes, the phone gets very hot and shouldnt be used for long periods of time. But like you said, you have no 3g signal, so you wouldnt be able to wireless tether anyway.

    You bridge the ethernet connection to the wifi connection to share it. Google internet bridging in google to find out more.

    Not usually.

    Ummm, yes, its called a Usb Widi adapter. I will take that 10 to 20 dollars in my paypal please.

    And BTW, you dont need to make 10 separate posts, just combine them into one.
     
  25. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    Can't have it. I solved the problem first. :) And much easier too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...