How can I get movies onto my captivate?Support


Last Updated:

  1. hcho3

    hcho3 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    HEy, everyone. I just got a captivate and I would appreciate it if any of you can tell me how can I get the movie AVATAR on the captivate. I am also interested in putting some movies on it as well. Can anyone tell me how?
     

    Advertisement
  2. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    12
    You can buy them when Samsung gets their media hub going. You can rip your DVDs to MP4 format using a tool like DVDFab.
     
  3. topshelf95

    topshelf95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Download a program called format factory. Open it on your desktop. You can put a dvd into your drive, click "dvd to video file" in the selections on the left side and convert it into MP4 format. Make sure to choose only the title or chapter that is the actual movie. Uncheck the shortest chapters time-wise. Choose your default audio stream. ac3 english will actually sound better than 5.1 on the phone. Louder anyway if you don't have earphones. Thats it, click "convert" when it appears back on the home screen of the program click "start" at the top and after the movie is done, you can mount your USB cable and drag and drop the movie into the folder of your choice on your phone. Or make a new folder titled "movies" hope this helps!
     
  4. yahoowizard

    yahoowizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    11
    Pretty much drag and drop into the Music folder on the Captivate. As for where you get your movies, I can't talk about methods here, but just go to the store and buy some movies!
     
  5. accrews

    accrews Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I use this on a movie dvd I've purchased since all of them have copyright protection or does this only work for homemade movies with no protection?

    I also read that this will try to stealth install two other programs, so beware.
     
  6. omgitsoop

    omgitsoop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    i use handbrake, theres a guide how to use it specifically for the handbrake here: [HOWTO] Convert videos for Samsung Galaxy S using Handbreak. - xda-developers Since Im just ripping dvd's i leave it at 720x480. if your ripping blu rays good luck with that, thats its own headache. you'll also need a decrypter, such as DVD43, if your ripping anything with encryption, im sure avatar does, and every disney movie certainly does
     
    CASUAL likes this.
  7. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    12
    Handbrake is free and works well. I bought DVDFab many years ago and never regretted it. They update it all the time and rips BluRay as well. The Decrypter is built into DVDFab - so if you want easy, it is a great way to go.
     
  8. JDM9499

    JDM9499 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    8
    What program works with Mac? And which do you prefer for Mac?
     
  9. mash4077

    mash4077 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use handbrake with anydvd
     
  10. robphelan

    robphelan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    if your movies are divx/xvid encoded, i'd recommend RockPlayer.. there's a free and paid version.. i've been using the free version for the past several days & works well
     
  11. iPhobia

    iPhobia Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    handbrake and mactheripper.
     
  12. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Get the DVD version, rip it using your favorite ripper and then use Handbrake to encode into a size/quality compromise that is suitable to you and the power of your PC.
     
    Roze likes this.
  13. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    I am assuming that you are asking how to put your purchased Avatar DVD and any other DVDs you own onto your phone. We do not promote the use of piracy on AndroidForums and I hope that was not your intention. All suggestions with regards to piracy have been dealt with.

    Cheers,
    -Roze-
     
  14. hcho3

    hcho3 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    No worries, Admin. I have a AVATAR DVD that is purchased.
     
  15. picklesNICKLES

    picklesNICKLES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Awe roze loves to follow the rules how cute

    I use handbrake on my Mac and it works pretty well except I can't figure out how to cover into anything higher than 640x360...the videos still look good but I hate knowing that im not getting the Max resolution on the phone
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Uncheck anamorphic, check keep aspect ratio, and use the buttons to increase the smaller number until the larger one reaches 800. Trying to increase the larger won't work and will max out at 720.

    This has been mentioned in numerous threads at this point.
     
  17. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    handbrake is the bomb for mac also try iskysoft dvd ripper xACT or "any video converter pro for mac" but out of all of handbrake is easiest to work with.
     
  18. ghost03

    ghost03 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am using Wondershare DVD ripper for the mac. It rips DVDs (the ones you own, of course) in just about any format you can think of. There is a trial version so you can test it first.
     
  19. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome im gonna have to try this out thanks for posting the link. I "own"some movies that I need to try this with
     
  20. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    If you're putting "own" in quotes, you're obviously referring to illegally copied material. This forum doesn't advocate or support copyright infringement.

    While I have no problem helping people convert movies from discs they legally own into a format they can play on their device (as this falls under the "fair use" clause), I will not support anyone trying to use my instructions for illegal purposes, and will report anyone making it obvious that they are doing so.
     
  21. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    i bought karate kid today, and im trying to put it on my phone. I used "own" as a future tense..
    because it was currently not in my posession
     
  22. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    (moving on)

    well i googled handbrake and I downloaded it but when I try to run it it says...

    ".NET runtime library is not installed.
    You can download .Net framework 2.0 redistributable from the microsfot website.
    Alternatively you can use google for a direct download URL."

    EDIT: I SOLVED THE PROBLEM..i downloaded framework 2.0
     
  23. artvandalay22222

    artvandalay22222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    26
    for some reason when i put a movie on the phone that I used handbrake to encode, the movie will occaionally stutter. like for a split second every maybe 15 seconds the picture will freeze. Barely noticible, but irritating

    All other video is works perfectly
     
  24. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Probably your advanced settings. Use the settings outlined here:
    Transferring movies from DVD - CapFAQ
     
  25. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Thread moved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...