How change "Primary" number for a contact?Support


Last Updated:

  1. atakin77

    atakin77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have a quick question about editing a contact that I was hoping someone might be able to help me out with. When looking at a contact, you will notice that one phone number (and one email address) is marked as "Primary". When calling without directly using contacts - just the list that pops up as you are typing the number or name - the phone call will be made to the number that is marked as "primary" instead of giving a choice. How do you change the "Primary" number for a contact? So far, the only way I have found to do it is to delete all numbers except for the one I want as the primary, and then add the rest after. Is there a way in editing the contact to just make this change without deleting the numbers and adding them back?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    Open the contact, long hold on the number you want to make primary, and click "Set as primary number". Same for email addresses: long hold address, "Set as default address".
     
  3. atakin77

    atakin77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks for the info. Works like a charm!
     
  4. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    another easy way to do it is google.com/contacts then you can edit any of your contacts from the computer
     
    jerrad707 likes this.
  5. atakin77

    atakin77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    15
    Before posting, I did look in Google Contacts to do this, but did not see how. How do you do it through Google?
     
  6. jraggio

    jraggio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I remove the primary designation entirely. The default is not have a primary number specified. I'd like to return some of my desktop contact shortcuts to prompt me for a number to call instead of dialing the default automatically. I now want it to ask me "home", "mobile" etc.

    Thanks,
    John
     
  7. jraggio

    jraggio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1

    found the following on the google code site and it worked like a charm. Kind of obvious. Wish I thought of it.

    If you would like no default number, follow rg94941 instructions above but first add a new number (to be deleted). Edit contact, add new number, enter any number (to be deleted), set default to this new number (see rg94941), then delete the new number. The shortcut will revert back to the multiple number option.
     
  8. Kaffir

    Kaffir New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I have an Xperia X8, with android, and I am also using the "Go Contacts" app...

    This solution Doesn't work for me...

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanx
     
  9. ErIndoorz

    ErIndoorz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried this but doesn't work on my HTC Desire HD :confused:
     
  10. WarningU2

    WarningU2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for this info "re long hold on number" ... this is a great forum. I really appreciate the time that people take to help others here. Its a blessing. :):)
     

Share This Page

Loading...