How come I can't install Google Earth?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest This Topic's Starter

    When I click on the app in AppBrain it gives me a broken link but others are getting it to work and leave comments.

    Anyone else get Google Earth to Install on an Incredible?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    Nope, having the same problem.
     
  3. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same problem here.
     
  4. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    I have it and it works fine. I'll post my apk a little later



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  5. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Just do a search for the apk file. Google is your friend.
     
    btailor likes this.
  6. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  7. Pooh434

    Pooh434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    Two thumbs up to you Rubik. I downloaded the link directly on my phone and IT WORKED!!!!! :p:p:p:p:p THANK YOU!!!!!!
     
  8. hexto

    hexto Guest This Topic's Starter

    I've been using Google Earth for a few days now and it crashes regularly. Not Force Close...it just closes and my phone ends up in the home screen. It happens with other apps (games mostly). Anyone else have that issue?
     
  9. kevinbakon

    kevinbakon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    63
    I downloaded the .apk, via the link above, directly on my phone.
    It downloaded fine & installed fine.
    When I try and open it however, I receive the following message:

    Alert!
    Can't write to data directory,
    maybe run out of disk space
    Quit

    I have pulled my battery to restart and get the same exact message when I'm back up and running.
    Currently I have:
    SD card = 11.99GB available
    Phone storage = 6.46GB available
    Phone memory = 615MB available
    So I should still have plenty of space . . . .

    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  10. Pooh434

    Pooh434 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    10
    I didn't have this problem. I downloaded it. After I got the successful alert, I went to Astro (file manager), sdcard, download folder, clicked on Google Earth, hit install. Got another successful alert and opened the application with no problem. Turned on location so "big brother" could follow me. ;)
     
    kevinbakon likes this.
  11. kevinbakon

    kevinbakon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks, using Astro made it work.
    Originally, I ran the apk from the browser downloads screen and although it looked like it installed fine, I guess it didn't.
    I uninstalled the app, opened Astro, Searched for "earth", ran it from there and now it works perfectly . . . . .

    My only disapointment is that it doesn't have the multi-touch/rotate feature like it did on my Moto Droid :(
     
  12. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    Same. I decided to uninstall it as I don't think I'd be using it that much anyways (especially if its causing problems)
     
  13. Nubbin

    Nubbin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI - Noob here. I've been trying to install Google Earth on an HTC Desire with no success, until I found a post wondering if some app was interfering with the install process. So as a starter, I uninstalled Google maps updates thinking it is a similar process - and it installed succesfully with no problems other than I'm now short of memory space. Try it....
     

Share This Page

Loading...