how did you start programming for android?General

1. Dixi1801

Dixi1801 Well-Known Member

I'm wanting to learn to program on android, but I'm a total noob to programming!

I've tinkered with HTML a while ago, and made a temperature converter in C++ following a guide, but apart from that, no experience!

i'm just wondering how the DHD community learned to program, and if they could recommend some books or whatever :)

thanks!

Advertisement
  2. hero_101

hero_101 Well-Known Member

3. Dixi1801

oh wow! thanks a lot!

i think i might read into java at a later date, would like to contribute to roms and such!
  4. JSLEnterprises

JSLEnterprises Well-Known Member

Two things I highly recommend learning

Scripting in Linux, and Java programming (not javascript, thats a sub of java though)

and learn to think in logic. :)
  5. Dixi1801

Thanks a lot! I've been using that app inventor too, unbelievably fun!
  6. RED_

RED_ Well-Known Member

Didn't know about that app inventor thingy, cheers for that. I started with Eclipse where i had orignally learnt Java so it sort of worked out hand in hand. Just used the tutorials that google give you and then other via youtube and stackoverflow. Good for all sorts of programming.
  7. JSLEnterprises

Also, Best code text based editor i've ever used.

I've been using this since it first came out, when I was still a freshman in college taking software engineering.

Notepad++ Home

some of you may find it handy
  8. Dixi1801

oh cool, thanks!

wish i was a software engineer lol :p always been interested im just impatient with the learning process!
  9. JSLEnterprises

eh, everything I learned was either out of date (RPG, CL Programming for the AS400 systems, Old C) or not geared towards whats wanted in today's industry. I could have learned everything on my own. lol
  10. RedSun

RedSun Active Member