How do I add languages??Support


Last Updated:

  1. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    So now that I've forced my Nexus to update to FroYo 2.2.. I was super excited to read that I can now swipe left or right on the keyboard to switch languages.

    But I can't for the life of me find ANYWHERE that shows me how to add Spanish to my nexus?!

    Am I missing something here?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    Settings - Language and keyboard - Android Keyboard - Input Languages (select as many as you want).
     
  3. LinoAirosa

    LinoAirosa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    By adding the input language, it doesn't mean you'll be getting spell checks or suggestions with it. I added portuguese and it only considers the words on my user dictionary. So you're not actually ADDING a language. It might be a way to do so.
     
  4. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Wow, that easy.

    I feel like an idiot. hahaha but thank you!
     
  5. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    Not sure exactly what you mean but when I switch to Spanish, I get a Spanish user dictionary that will auto-correct and suggest words that are in Spanish.

    Works great!
     
  6. carlosveiga

    carlosveiga New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any developments on this? Any news about portuguese?...
     
  7. Spackle

    Spackle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd am interested in hearing if anyone has gotten Portuguese input for the HTC Incredible. I've only had the phone a few days and it is completely useless for texting in any languanges but English and Spanish. It does have Froyo installed but only options for English/Spanish.

    Does the Droid X or Droid 2 have Portuguese support? I will switch phones in a heartbeat.
     
  8. gkvirgo84

    gkvirgo84 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    All you need to do is install an android app called Morelocale. You can find it here:
    https://market.android.com/details?id=jp.co.c_lis.ccl.morelocale

    I bought my Xoom in Germany and found that I could only select German as the display language (apparently the others are installed, but somehow inaccessible). In this app, if you don't find the language that you need, select 'custom locale' and you can have any combination of language and location.
     
  9. nanatsuaazu

    nanatsuaazu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Galaxy S does not have the folowing sequence;
    Settings - Language and keyboard - Android Keyboard - Input Languages
    Instead it has
    Settings - Locale and text - Select locale
    which has only Deutsch, English, Espanol, Francais, Italiano and Korean.
    That's all. What can I do to install other Asian languages?
     
  10. Wroyala

    Wroyala New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not receiving messages in URDU languag in my sony xperia X8, as it is not campatable of it, I have added Google translation but still not working. any advise please.

     
  11. umiteks

    umiteks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an information on MoreLocale's Creater about how to change language:


    "You have to add a below permission to AndroidManifest.xml.

    <uses-permission android:name="jp.co.c_lis.permission.CHANGE_LOCALE" />


    Next, you can put three data to Intent. Language, Country and Variant.

    // change language and country setting to English/U.S.
    Intent intent = new Intent("jp.co.c_lis.ccl.morelocale.CHANGE_LOCALE");
    intent.putExtra("LOCALE_LANGUAGE", "en");
    intent.putExtra("LOCALE_COUNTRY", "US");
    intent.putExtra("LOCALE_VARIANT", "");
    sendBroadcast(intent);



    I didnt try yet But I guess you first have to root phone (an easy process)
    than find the file with a file manager like ES FILE Manager, than change permissions...
     

Share This Page

Loading...