How do I change phone number listed in phone?Support


Last Updated:

  1. microman777

    microman777 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed my phone number but the phone still list my old number in the "About" settings. I tried resetting the phone to factory settings but it still shows old number. I do get and received calls though just fine with new number.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    How long has it been?

    What carrier?
     
  3. microman777

    microman777 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its been one day with new number on T-Mobile.
     
  4. ParishyM

    ParishyM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    the phone reads the # off your sim card, if it won't
    update to the new # try a new sim.
     
  5. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    There's already a thread on this. You can basically update the number on the phone using a dumb phone. I use my Samsung D500 to do it as it's the only dumb phone I have that lets me edit the number on the SIM card.

    The carrier has nothing to do with it as like others have said its reading the number off the SIM card.
     
  6. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    I updated the number on my SIM using my spare WM phone.

    In about, my number is still reported as "unknown"

    Can't bloody win :rolleyes:
     
  7. microman777

    microman777 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet. I do have an old T-mobile phone and put in the SIM and updated the number! Now it shows up correctly on my Nexus One!

    Thankz! :)
     
  8. krejcik

    krejcik New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Verizon demo phone that is tied to a phone number. Verizon won't let me switch it to my number until the rep clears the number. But I have no way of finding the rep and Verizon says it can't trace the number back to an actual employee even though it comes up as an employee phone.

    Is there any way for me to clear the phone number myself with root access?

    Thanks,
     
  9. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i have a new number also, but no dumphone,, im screwed.. grrrr
     
  10. warr3n

    warr3n New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My number is also "unknown" on my Nexus.

    Could someone please explain why my number should be shown?

    Everything seems to work!
     
  11. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    In the Froyo messaging app, you will have an ugly grey box next to sent messages unless you fix it.

    I used my dad's SE K550i to fix mine.
     
  12. ianm2k4

    ianm2k4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly this problem also.
    Do we know what list of phones you can change the number on
    SE K800i didnt work.

    I used an iPhone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...