How do I check if Rooting was successful ?


Last Updated:

  1. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    I've followed the HOW TO: Root Your Desire Easily (Method #2) guide and the app reported 'Done' - the phone boots back up fine etc but how do I know it it actually worked ?

    Not trying any customs roms yet but I have tried to install Titanium backup and that failed after I gave it super-user permissions.

    Is the a setting on the on the HBOOT menu that tells me I'm rooted ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    You should have a Super User icon like the one in the picture if you are rooted.
     

    Attached Files:

    Papex and tef89 like this.
  3. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yeh I have that. So that means it's successfully rooted ?

    Any idea why Titanium backup won't work ? do I need a custom Rom ?

    Error Msg

    "Sorry, I could not aquire root priveledges .... Please verify that your ROM is rooted and includes BusyBox, and try again"

    I'm guessing I need to be more than just rooted ?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    No should work.

    test download mybackup and see when you open it if it prompts to allow you super user functions also. if it does, the root is fine.
     
    tef89 likes this.
  5. steveky

    steveky Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Click problems i titanium, click yes do it and download busybox it should work then
    Steve
     
    tef89 likes this.
  6. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    Can you open Titanium? If you can click on the problems tab then let it install BusyBox then it should work.
     
    tef89 likes this.
  7. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks Steve (and everyone) - I followed your instructions and it worked :)

    Hit the 'Problems ?' button, it downloaded some magic and now all is good !

    Just need to find some more apps to utilize the rooting with, just too much of a chicken to install a custom ROM yet lol
     
  8. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    Try ShootMe you can take screen shots of your loverly phone. You need root to use it, it's free on the Market. You just shake it to take it :D
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    "Set CPU" if you want to save a bit of battery. be careful though.
     
  10. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks guys - will have a play :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...