how do i download froyo vodafone through kies??Support


Last Updated:

  1. loadsaaaTOP

    loadsaaaTOP Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    can someone tell me exactly whati do to get froyo onto my phone.

    ive done the lag fix. does that change anything?

    got froyo up and running. do i simply click on firmware update on kies and it does it. or do i need to download from vodafone website??

    i just dont fully understand.

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. dc2447

    dc2447 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    9
    remove lagfix, update firmaware vies kies
     
  3. voodooochild

    voodooochild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    33
    you cant since its not available yet, otherwise you can flash the firmware to your phone but it wont be 'official'. otherwise once it is released it is through kies.
     
  4. dc2447

    dc2447 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    9
    Wrong. Vodafone released froyo for Galaxy S yesterday.
     
  5. loadsaaaTOP

    loadsaaaTOP Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys, so all i do is connect my phone to kiersd and click update firmware!

    re the lagfix...how do i remove? do i need to reset to factory settings and if so how do i?

    im feared that i will damage my phone.
     
  6. dc2447

    dc2447 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    9
    depends which lagfix you installed and how

    factory reset would be safest (imvho), it's what I did
     
  7. loadsaaaTOP

    loadsaaaTOP Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    it was oclf from android market.

    does this not work with froyo then. without it will the phone not lag like it used to?
    or can i reinstall the lagfix once froyo is installed.


    aslo, what abpout the rooting i did before lag fix. will this affect froyo?? sorry for the questions just thati dont really know what it all means that ive done,ive just followed guides
     
  8. zolah

    zolah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you used RyanZA's OCLF then just open up the app and in green there will be an undo lag fix option. Run that to take the lag fix off and then also do the same for the EXT tools.

    You can also unroot your phone the exact same way you rooted it through that app but its not essential as the firnware upgrade will unroot your phone for you.

    You MUST remove the lag fix and EXT from your phone though or you will run into some serious issues.

    Once you have undone everything just plug your phone into the computer and fire up kies and click on the upgrade firmware icon and let it do its thing.

    Make sure you have a full charge of battery before trying to upgrade or kies wont let you do it. I think its like below 75% battery life.

    Also check your usb is set to samsung kies in your phone settings.

    You can use RyanZA lag fix to put the lagfix back onto your phone once you have upgraded but you will need to use another method to root your phone before hand through your computer.

    XDA devolpers forum has plenty of clearly instructed guides on how to do it.

    Hope that clears everything up for you mate.

    Enjoy
     
  9. goalc

    goalc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, we just got back from holiday this afternoon and when my wife turned her sgs on, she got a message from vodafone saying that froyo is available via a link they sent.

    My question is, is it worth doing? Her gps has been fine and she says it is quick enough for her (so she has never put the lag fix on), so should she upgrade and risk getting issues on gps, swype, slower performance etc that I have seen in other posts, or is she better to stay on 2.1?

    Any advice / comments are appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  10. nesjo

    nesjo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're frustrated trying to get Froyo via KIES, take heart: you're not alone, and it's not your fault. KIES is an incredibly buggy piece of software that really shames SAMSUNG. Furthermore, it does not even support the latest version of Windows (7 has been out for a year, even in Korea) let alone other operating systems.

    I gave up and resorted to hackery after days of messing around trying to persuade KIES to either:
    * Properly install on a Windows PC
    * Launch after installation
    * Connect my SGS
    * Let me install FROYO

    This is after testing KIES on the following:
    * A Windows 7 VM in OSX under Parallels - 32-bit Ultimate EN (partially successful)
    * A native Windows XP machine, DE (failed)
    * A second native Windows XP machine, DE
    * A Windows 7 32-bit notebook, EN (failed)


    So quit wasting your time with this piece of junk software - and go down the alternative route. As a bonus, you'll get rid of the clunky, slugging Vodafone logo screens when your SGS boots - the native graphics are way cooler.

    And funniest of all, I saw some new native wallpapers - somehow Vodafone Germany saw fit to delete some of those lovely panoramic images ... maybe there was a T-Mo shop showing up in the corner of one of them?

    The one thing you will need to do before trying to install FROYO is to make sure your battery is fully charged.

    I bookmarked the key sites in my hacking trip - which was successful, by the way. I now have a lovely SGS running FROYO, aka firmware version 2.2. And, by the way, I also managed to lose all those bloat applications that Vodafone inexplicably adds - for example, WTF would want to play just 14 pieces of Tetris, or one round on a Monopoly board? I ain't reaching for my wallet on the strength of a compelling and exciting game where - gasp - I just got to play 14 pieces. Vodafone - you are just a dumb pipe sometimes.

    The bookmarks:
    nesjo's samsung Bookmarks on Delicious

    My favorite, and the one that worked for me, http://www.pathikshah.com/, seems to be offline. I'm suspicious. Good thing that Google has cached the page ... Install Android 2.2 Froyo on Samsung Galaxy S | Pathik Shah

    Closing comments: Yeah, I now have the Asian software build. But everything works, and if you think I'm bothered by not having the German or English build, you're confusing me with someone who gives a crud.
     
  11. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,872
    Likes Received:
    319
    What a load of crap, works fine in Windows 7, I've successfully flashed two phone using kies with Windows 7, no problems at all. :rolleyes:
     
  12. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Why Asian build? The Europe build of Froyo has been out for more than a month already. Btw, that guide uses JP2, which is an outdated Froyo build.

    I agree. Windows 7 64-bit. Works like a charm~
     
  13. loadsaaaTOP

    loadsaaaTOP Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive done the firmware update through kies after removing the lag fix.....have i not got froyo??? sweated for a but as the phone seemed to stick on the galaxy logo when reloading!!

    can i now download flash player?
     

Share This Page

Loading...