• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help How do I enable Car Mode when not in a dock?

MrMister

Nov 15, 2010
I have a Sensation XE, I'm new to Android, and heard that there is a "car mode" to help when using phone in a car.

I don't have an official HTC car dock or other, I just use a car holder thing. I've looked on my XE and can only find a Desk Dock Mode.

I understand that if you have an official HTC dock, it automatically goes into car more, but can we do this manually?

It looks like a handy feature.

cheers

The Sensation hasn't an app or a widget for car mode.
If the microUSB plug has between pin4 and pin5 a 10kOhm resistor the phone goes the HTC Navigation app.
I have this tested ;)
It is exactly this what the official HTC car dock does.

Maybe the Sensation XE has a car mode as widget.
So have a look at your HTC widgets (maybe as download).

Harry

Upvote 0
Is there a video to show the sensation in case mode? What does it exactly do? Must have a screen with large icons on?

That app puts the audio to the phone I want it over my car speakers.

IOS found an app in the market that is full screen widget (so takes up one of my home screens) and displays 6 customisable shortcuts.

Ideally I would want the phone to automatically switch to this screen if my in car Bluetooth is connected to my phone.

Cheers

Upvote 0
The Sensation hasn't an app or a widget for car mode.
If the microUSB plug has between pin4 and pin5 a 10kOhm resistor the phone goes the HTC Navigation app.
I have this tested ;)
It is exactly this what the official HTC car dock does.

Maybe the Sensation XE has a car mode as widget.
So have a look at your HTC widgets (maybe as download).

Harry

Hi Harry,

Cheers for the previous info.

I just got a Kidigi car dock and was hoping it had the resistor installed which you previously described.
Of course as my luck goes recently, I don't believe it does.