1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How do I exit apps and stop them...?Support


Last Updated:

  1. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    37
    Without going into menu-->settings--->apps--->manage apps---> and selecting force stop for running apps that should have been stopped when i left them...?

    Or am I screwing things up by hitting "force stop"

    e.g. espn app, cbssports fantasy football app, Network app...

    none of these have a menu choice to "exit" or stop when i am done with them...

    is this just an android issue...

    OR...should i not worry about it 'cause its really not causing much battery drain?

    thanks -in-advance

    shanty
     

    Advertisement
  2. probinson

    probinson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    47
    I use a program called SystemPanel. It displays all the programs in memory (active or not) and I can terminate any that I care to.
     
  3. whtge8

    whtge8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    Those apps running in the background are not actually "running". It is just sort of on standby, to be able to launch quicker. Manually exiting these programs will not do a thing for battery life. Leave em alone.
     
    shantytownbrown likes this.
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Yep, Android is not like what you are used to in Windows. When android loads something into the cache or memory, it literally just sits there until you open the app. Its not using any cpu, and force closing it will just cause it to reload itself, using more battery.

    That being said, I also use the System Panel Lite app. Once in a while I will go through and make sure nothing is using too much cpu. It also comes in handy for the once in a while app that locks up, I can go in here and close it.
     
    shantytownbrown likes this.
  5. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    the back button. don't use the home button
     
    shantytownbrown likes this.
  6. shantytownbrown

    shantytownbrown Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    37
    I usually do, but sometimes I am finding I am hitting the back button way too many times...gets old, so I just hit home...

    thanks all for the explanations
     
  7. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Using the back button immediately puts an app into inactive state.

    Using the home button puts the app into background state.

    Neither modes drain battery (unless the app is designed to process something or use the radio in the background). Apps in background will automatically go to inactive state if you don't go back to them within 30 minutes.
     
    probinson likes this.
  8. takeyouriphoneandshoveit

    takeyouriphoneandshoveit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    8
    Incorrect, when Android loads your programs back up, it is using CPU. That is why they make a task killer.
     
  9. jamesmckeephx

    jamesmckeephx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    6
    froyo doesnt need em
     
  10. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633

    Yes, when it loads them it uses cpu, but once the program is loaded, it just sits there, not doing anything until you open the program back up. And yes, froyo doesnt need a task killer.
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    "most" apps play nice with android's task management.

    Others do not.

    like facebook's fiasco of an update and some other apps I have recently tried that keep the phone in an "awake" state.

    OP, I'd say that most of your apps aren't causing any issues, however it isn't impossible to get a rogue app that is indeed running the cpu/services

    the real question is...are you actually experiencing battery drain issues, or does it just bother you to see all of those apps running?

    what are your awake vs up times compared to what you have actually had the phone "awake"
     

Share This Page

Loading...