How do I get a clean install without restoring settings?


Last Updated:

  1. GregP74

    GregP74 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO I sinstalled the CM 6.0.0 rom to check it out. I downloaded some apps and fiddled with some settings to see if I liked it, but decided to do a wipe before using it "for real".

    Unfortunately, I can't get it back to a clean install because it insists on restoring all of my previous settings and applications. Even ones I've uninstalled and gotten refunds for, no matter what settings I put in the Privacy section about backing up and restoring.

    Help! There must be a way to keep it from doing this, but I can't find it and I'm about to toss this thing out the window!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Do a factory reset via your recovery menu and when you're going through the initial setup wizard, tell it to skip putting your gmail account details in. Once you're on the homescreen, go to the settings and find the option for backup my data to Google and disbale it.

    Then go to Accounts and Sync and add your gmail account, making sure to deselect the backup option there too.

    That should stop it restoring apps/settings. I have heard that it should perform a little better with the backup turned off too, but that might be specific to my phone.
     
  3. GregP74

    GregP74 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that did the trick.

    If I want to turn on the backups in the future (once I get the phone set up how I want), can I turn it back on and only have it save the new stuff without trying to re-download a bunch of old junk I didn't want?
     
  4. GregP74

    GregP74 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done a bit more playing around and for the life of me, I can't seem to figure out how to get it to back up my current *good* configuration. No matter what I do, it wants to reload my old, messed up settings.

    It's unfortunate that nobody at Google thought of a "Back up current configuration" or "Clear Existing Backup" function.
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I would've assumed turning it once you've got the ROM set up will be different to having it on during the initial setup. I haven't felt the need to turn it back on my self though.

    So that's what happens when you turn it back on? You may have to stick it out and go through all the settings again whilst backup is turned on. At least you'd have a good backup then.

    You might want to use an app like Titanium backup/astro to uninstal all the apps it will dump on you a bit more quickly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...