How do I keep my mp3's and ringtones separate so they don't all play in music player?Support


Last Updated:

  1. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    How do I set different folders for my ringtones and mp3's? I put some ringtones as well as mp3's on my phone. When I open up the music player app, it shows my ringtones and mp3's all together. How do I keep them separate? I don't want my ringtones playing in my music app.

    The same issue applies to my pictures. I have some small pics that I'm using as my caller ID contact pics, I have some camera pics, and then a few wallpaper pics. I"d like to have them separated when I open up the Albums app. How do I do this?


    New to Android so don't flame please...
     

    Advertisement
  2. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Move the ringtones to media/audio/rintones

    Move the notification sounds to media/audio/notifications

    Put the pictures you don't want to show up in your album to /download
     
  3. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    This is gonna sound stupid but I'm new to Droid so bear with me...

    Do those folders already exist in the phone?

    Or do I have to create them?
     
  4. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    The easiest way to move these things around is by using a file manager app. I use Astro and it's very easy. Just search the market for it. And I do believe the previously mentioned folders already exist on the phone
     
  5. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    They are on the SD card.

    You can also create a text file and rename it .nomedia. Then place that file in a folder and the content of that folder won't show in the media players.
     
    NKT, jjfitz0 and mixpix like this.
  6. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    Oops, that's what I meant
     
  7. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    I downloaded Astro File Manager and when I open it up here's what folders are showing on the SD card:

    .footprints
    .Mail
    .DCIM
    maps
    rosie_scroll
    thumbs
    tmp
    and then all my pictures & mp3/ringtones are loosely in there

    I don't see media, audio, ringtones etc anywhere. I did find a folder under DCIM called "100MEDIA" that is where my camera pics are stored. But no other media type folders. Where do I go to find them?

    Can I just create a folder that says mp3's and then move all my mp3's into that folder. Then when I open up the music player, it would only see the "mp3" folder???
     
  8. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    hmmm, id just mount to the computer then and create the folders that way. while your there, you can easily move the files around
     
  9. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does it matter where I put the folders? I mean do they have to be subfolders of a master folder? Or can I just make a folder called ringtones?
     
  10. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does it matter where I put the folders? I mean do they have to be subfolders of a master folder? Or can I just make a folder called ringtones?
     
  11. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    To be honest, I'm not completely sure. Sorry I couldn't be more help. I'm sure someone here will be able to provide more assistance
     
  12. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    Make the media folder then make the audio folder inside of it and then make the 2 other folders inside the audio folder. Or just make one folder and put the renamed text file like ofthedamned suggested inside of it.
     
  13. taterdiditoo

    taterdiditoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just recently organized my album and all you need to do is create new folders for your pics. Do not put them in the camera folder though. Attach your SD card to the computer (or go through Astro) and simply create a new folder and put the pics you want in it in there. Once you unmount your phone, the new folders should show in the album.
    I can't help with the ringtones though...sorry and good luck!
     
  14. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does it matter where I put the folders? I mean do they have to be subfolders of a master folder? Or can I just make a folder called ringtones?
     
  15. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you very much for the help
     
  16. mixpix

    mixpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you create a folder called Ringtones right in the root of the SD card it will not show the files in your Music Player and it will show it in the list of all ringtones on the phone.

    BUT putting them in media/audio/ringtones makes it easier to sort.
     
  17. septembergurl

    septembergurl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    28
    What exactly does it mean to create a folder in the root of the SD card? I created a folder called Ringtones on the very first window I see when I open my SD card... but my ringtones are still showing up in my Music app.
     
  18. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    The root of the card is the first thing you see when you mount the phone to the pc and view it. Just placing your ringtones in a folder won't hide them from the media player. You have to create a text file in that folder and rename it to .nomedia Once you do that the media won't look at them again.

    It sounds like you have it right so far, you just need to add the file.
     
  19. septembergurl

    septembergurl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks for the info! How do I create a text file? (At least when it comes to phones, I can testify that ignorance is definitely not bliss... lol *sigh*)
     
  20. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    My text messaging ringtone is in my music app, but I can't find it when I mount my Eris to computer.
     
  21. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    You'll have to mount the phone to make the file. Although there may already be a copy in one of the folders on your SD card.

    Have you tried mounting the phone and doing a search?
     
  22. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    Just tried searching for it and I can't find it.
     
  23. Jaytime 25

    Jaytime 25 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried both, when I put .nomedia, it does take it out of library but you can no longer see it in ringtones. Just putting them in the folder ringtones still shows up in music library as well
     
  24. MusicAddict

    MusicAddict Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is the sticky thing for me also. I have all the silly sounds I want showing up in the ringtone chooser, (gotta love the Flintstones factory whistle when its time to leave work) but I also see them in my Music collection. Oh well. Gotta live with it for now I guess.
     
  25. PhantomKidd

    PhantomKidd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the Ringtones folder I changed the .nomedia file name to .nomusic, and guess what? It worked. My mp3 ringtones do not show up in music lists but do show up as available ringtones. Lucky guess or what?
     
    fcastillo likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...