How do I know if I am rooted


Last Updated:

  1. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I just ran a anti virus program and it says I am rooted. I do not want to be rooted. I did click on the shole updater but I never opened it up because I am a chickenshit and know my limitations. I thought the scan found the download and assumed I was rooted so I deleted the download ( I never opened or saw any type of process). AV still says I am rooted. How can I look to see if I am or not rooted?
     

    Advertisement
  2. i ride a burton

    i ride a burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you were rooted there should be a little ninja application in your app drawer that is called superuser permissions. If you dont see that and you haven't installed the update.zip file that roots your phone i think its just the AV being ******ed.
     
  3. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Look in the app tray and see if you have an app called Superuser Permissions. The icon is a ninja. If you do then you are rooted.
     
  4. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I do not have the superuser permission but I do have the SM updater. WHAT DO I DO?
    The updater has never been opened, should I erase it?
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Umm ... whether one has the SuperUser app or not isn't conclusive. You can be rooted and not have SuperUser installed.

    But first and foremost ... why are you running anti-virus on a DROID? Argh! Really??? :confused:

    Go to the Market and install drocap2. It's a simple screen shot app. If that app runs, you're rooted.
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Why are you so concerned about SMUpdater? What am I missing here??? :confused:
     
  7. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I thought that was a rooting program I downloaded it but did not open.
    The droidcap2 loaded but when I ran it it came up with an error not able to execute.
     
  8. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Is it safe for me to open and not be rooted.
     
  9. BucYouUp68

    BucYouUp68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    27
    Is this Post for Real???????
     
  10. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes
     
  11. BucYouUp68

    BucYouUp68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    27
    Take the AV Client off your Phone, That is the Best advice of year 2010.
     
  12. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes I am afraid I accidentally rooted and I do not want to be. I want to delete the updater if I do not need it. I would hate delete it and then need it to unroot or for any reason.
     
  13. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    dropcap didn't work, your not rooted. I don't know why you got the smupdater app if your didn't want to root.
     
  14. OlSarge

    OlSarge Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahh.. don't worry about it even if you had opened it you would have had to reboot in recovery and go through the install process and belive me if you would have done that you would know you were rooted. Even if you did root you can return to stock by running the app again.

    Also if you want to uninstall do it by using a program like "quick uninstall", that way it makes things simple for you
     
  15. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thank you. I was going to root but with the update coming it does not make sense for me.I really do not know enough to be doing things like that anyways. I can figure out programs already here but to change things is crazy for me. I figured if I screwed things up I would need the updater again. I will uninstall it now.
    I got rid of the AV program. I had it from day one out of computer habit. Well I still have Lookout but that also has other features.
    Thanks all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...