1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How do I know if I have the Droid 2 or Droid 2 Global?


Last Updated:

  1. stevehous

    stevehous Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to root my phone, but am unsure exactly if my phone is a D2 or D2G. Can someone point out some obvious things to look for in my phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13,125
    Likes Received:
    9,766
    I found this:

    A external physical difference between the Droid 2 Global and the Droid 2 is that the Droid 2 Global is slightly slimmer and the camera area slightly bulges out. But I don't think that is going to help you much. The only other thing I found that can differentiate is that the Droid 2 has a 1Ghz processor where the Global has the 1.2Ghz processor.
     
  3. stevehous

    stevehous Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    so would I be looking in the phone system information to try to see how many ghz my processor is?
     
  4. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13,125
    Likes Received:
    9,766
    Yup. Or sign in to your Verizon Wireless account and it'll tell you what phone you have
     
    stevehous likes this.
  5. Stylz

    Stylz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can't you go into settings > about phone > Model number and it will tell you?
     
  6. db2u

    db2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    28
    Doesnt a droid 2 global have a sim card slot?
     
  7. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    It should since they can be GSM/CDMA where as Droid 2 is only CDMA. I assumed all D2Gs were white too.
     
  8. kastleberg

    kastleberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    207
    So would this really matter when it comes to rooting? Specifically, would I run into any trouble rooting and porting droid 2 roms to the global? I don't have a D2, I use X. Coworker wants me to get them rooted and set up on a rom, just want to make sure I won'r run into any problems and what to avoid.

    Also, while I'm in the D2 section, any roms work best? Thinking I will go with Apex. Seems simplest for someone who wouldn't know too much of a difference.
     
  9. biggiesmalls657

    biggiesmalls657 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    30
    He would actually need to try them all to see which he likes. That way he is informed and can make a definite decision.
     

Share This Page

Loading...