• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help How do i move photos from S4 to Mac and other USB mass storage questions

Pandamedic

May 3, 2013
Hi.

I'm new to the android world after moving from apple to a galaxy s4 2 days ago.

I've got an sd card in my phone, but was wondering if anyone could tell me how i transfers photos and video that i have taken off the sd card and onto my mac.

I've tried taking the sd card out and putting it into my mac, and it says it's an unrecognised format and i can't see the card.

I've plugged the phone in with the usb cable and it doesn't show up on my mac either.

Someone mentioned about changing the usb option to mass storage like you can on the s3, but i can't find that option on the s4.

Any ideas would be great thanks

thanks for that. tried it and it didn't work, keeps saying can't connect to device :-(

Works fine for me. I wish I saved the link where I downloaded it from. Maybe here? How to transfer files between Android and Mac | Digital Trends

Just use dropbox. Makes it all super simple. Will auto upload photos from your phone and with it installed on your mac you can just view and move them around in finder easily.

Edit - I still have the version i'm using. I could email it to you? It's 2.7mb in size.

Upvote 0
It's not a version issue for Android File Transfer.

That worked reliably until one day Apple updated OS X just one more time, and then we started seeing problems that come down to individual Mac hardware/software <--> phone versions. It's happening across all Android.

There's a for-pay Mac solution, but the easy way around the problem is to try AirDroid. It's free and secure on your home network.

Groups of pictures will go into a zip file in your Downloads folder.

Upvote 0
My wife uses Dropbox on her Mac that same exact way. Easy to import into iPhoto because the Mac app binds Dropbox to the Finder, iPhoto sees it as just another folder.