Support How Do I "Restore" the Phone to Factory Settings?

1. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member

Hi guys.
    I bought a Samsung Galaxy S II a while ago and it is a beautiful phone, but I have had some pretty annoying problems, and therefore I would like to "restore" the phone to factory settings.

• 3G never seems to be enabled regardless of how many times I configure the APN.
    • KIES used to work fine but now it always "takes too long to respond" whenever I try to access it via URL.
    • Sometimes the battery dies too fast (but I found a thread for that!).
    Please keep in mind I'm REALLY new to the world of Android, so I don't know the "lingo" of this nice world yet ("rooting", etc..). I have looked for a way to restore my phone but everything is a bit confusing, particularly because of these "big words". Can someone tell me how can I restore my phone to factory settings?

As an additional question, is there a way to see all the apps I have purchased/downloaded from the MarketPlace? Just so I can redownload them again. I don't want to do a full backup of the phone since I don't have much important stuff on it, so I would rather leave it in clean state and reinstall the apps manually.

Advertisement
  2. Sydney99

Sydney99 Well-Known Member

recovery mode - turn off phone then press vol up+home+power to boot into recovery mode. scroll down to factory reset

marketplace will still remember your apps
  3. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member

Perfect. Hope this solves all my issues. Thanks a lot for your answer.
  4. Slug

Slug Check six! Moderator

Just for completeness, you can avoid the recovery reboot by going to Settings/Privacy/Factory data reset.
  5. Leonne

Leonne Well-Known Member

Yeah, I actually ended up resetting in three different ways. I checked the tips and what finally fixed all my issues (most?, haven't played with all of them yet), was to dial a number I saw in the Tips and Tricks thread.