How do I run ADB


Last Updated:

  1. budd1983

    budd1983 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    I keep hearing about ADB and would like clarification on what it is and what i can do with it? Thank you
     

    Advertisement
  2. VIO

    VIO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    62
    here!

    try all of those
     
  3. Exiled

    Exiled Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have found several sites through google and some tutorials on youtube, but after several frustrating hours of work I still can't seem to get adb to work. I'm on win 7 64 bit. I finally gave up and did one click root, but I would still like to have adb for other proposes. Not really sure what to try now...
     
  4. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Install the Android SDK
     
  5. Weegie5

    Weegie5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried installing this probably six or seven times tonight. Every time I double click the SDK Setup.exe file, a command window pops up for a few seconds (though it remains blank/black the entire time), then I get the following window:
    [​IMG]
    What is up with the semicolon at the beginning of the file path it wants me to enter? I've done it with and without, and neither works.
    Here is a shot of it with the semicolon:
    [​IMG]
    I wanted to avoid the one-click root so I could learn something. I wanted that something to be about the Droid, not about my damn PC! This is frustrating...
     
  6. bosox2k1

    bosox2k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    25
    I think you are going about it wrong if I am understanding you correctly.

    You don't open up the sdk setup.exe, that always closed on me--when I was thinking that was the way to do it too.

    You have to install certain drivers on your phone via device manager and some zip files that are available in the forums. Once the drivers are up to date, you open up cmd from the start menu and assuming the sdk/tools is placed on the C drive--you pull it up

    cd C:\sdk\tools

    assuming it's named like that, of course.



    First things first, you have to setup adb---go here Setup ADB on Windows (USB Driver v3 from SDK r7) - Droid X Support/General - AllDroid Public Board - Setup ADB on Windows (USB Driver v3 from SDK r7) - Droid X Support/General - AllDroid Public Board - AllDroid.org > Home
     
  7. Weegie5

    Weegie5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had installed the Motorola drivers within hours of getting the phone. I had updated the driver (via those AllDroid instructions) to "Android Sooner Composite ADB Interface".

    I don't know what the "Sooner" part is, or what it means, but I've never even been to Oklahoma. I just went with it because it was closest to "Android Composite ADB Interface"
     
  8. Exiled

    Exiled Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    19
    So can someone help me figure out if I got it set up correctly? When I type "adb devices" it brings up my device number, so that leads me to believe it is working. But can someone give me some other commands to run, and what I should see if it does in fact work? Thanks.
     
  9. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    nvm
     
  10. VIO

    VIO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    62
    Ok as far as your SDK error, it looks like the problem is that your java isn't in the PATH var. you have it in it's on special "java" var instead of adding it to the PATH var.

    [​IMG]

    Try it like that! NOTE: the path var should/does already exist in there, you just need to append the java path to it. also while you are in there add your Android SDK path to it as well, which is the path of your "tools" folder

    probably "C:\android-sdk\tools", but check to make sure!
     
  11. aloha.android

    aloha.android Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    20
    I kind of had a problem with installing all of this at first but its simple afterwards.

    You should first download the latest sdk. After you've done that you want to update it. If you're tethering, the https wont work so you'll have to push it to http in the "settings" tab. Its a huge file. So you might want to get some pizza rolls to kill time :)

    Second, go into the same folder you're in. (With the system variables and user variables you'll need to do the samething.) Scroll down them until you reach "path". Click edit. And now there should be a string of different locations. Don't delete them! Just add the path to where your sdk folder is and include the path for tools.
    So for example let's say the string already has "c:\temp;c:\doodoo"
    you see how a seperate path is added by semicolon and not a space?? So you would (at the end of the path) add a" ;" and your path to sdk tools. So i put mine in c: . Here's how i did it. C:\sdk\tools

    Do for both user and system. See if it works by opening command prompt. With your phone in and typing" adb devices" .

    Your device should show upm hope it helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...