General How do I stop "applications restored"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dewalist, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. dewalist

    dewalist Well-Known Member
    38

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    How can I stop Google from restoring the apps I had installed? I wipe my phone and try to start from scratch, but Google keeps re-installing the apps I had installed. I do NOT check the option during setup to sync that data, and I even went as far as uninstalling them all before I did a wipe...but they were still re-installed! How can I stop this from happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member
    98

    Dec 10, 2009
    580
    63
    98
    What... How do you start doing that? That would make switching ROMs a lot easier! ;)
     
  3. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member
    38

    Jan 26, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    ND
    Hmmmm, the only time it's done that to me is when I went from a 2.2 rom to something else (EE) and back to kaosfroyo.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member
    163

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    357
    163
    its a cyanogenmod thing.
     
  5. dewalist

    dewalist Well-Known Member
    38

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    Thanks Andrizoid - I am trying out kaosfroyo so that makes sense...

    DDustinn - when going through the initial setup of the device, there's a part where it asks you if you want Google to back up your data. If you do, it tries to sync things (like bookmarks and apps and such) with Google so that if you wipe your phone and reinstall, it will try to put that stuff back onto your phone. It isn't perfect, which is why I don't want to use it...
     
  6. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    38

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Actually, its a froyo thing.
     
  7. dewalist

    dewalist Well-Known Member
    38

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    I'm fairly sure I saw it in other non-froyo roms...unless it was a feature they brought down to 2.1... I am definitely un-checking the option when I am going through setup (I confirm it later in settings) but it still pushed my apps to me. I hope someone figure out how to stop it from doing that...
     

Share This Page

Loading...