How do I take a picture of my screen?Support


Last Updated:

  1. cm123

    cm123 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    so i am completely new to this. the TB is my first smartphone and i figured out the basics, but still stuck on a few things. i've read in this forum on how to do screenshots, but i don't understand how to download and do all that (it's like reading a foreign language to me, even tho i've been trying to keep up with all your great info in these forums). isn't there a way just to take a picture of my screen with the phone itself? thanks in advance :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. fillyo

    fillyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    9
    Most screen shot apps require root. You can through ADB, but I can't help you there!
     
  3. cm123

    cm123 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2

    what's ADB?
     
  4. dyezak

    dyezak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    57
    Your question prompted me to figure this out. I got it working, so here goes:

    1. Download Android's SDK - HERE
    2. Unzip the SDK to the root of C:
    3. Download the HTC Sync tool - HERE
    4. Install the HTC Sync tool (you really only have to install the pre-requisites). This installs the T-Bolt ADB drivers.
    5. Prep your phone for an ADB connection.
    6. Go To Menu>Settings>Applications>Development and check the "USB Debugging" option
    7. Connect your phone to your computer via USB
    8. Launch a command prompt
    9. CD over to c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\ and run ddms.bat
    10. Now in the java window that pops up select your phone
    11. Go to Device>Screen Capture

    There is your screenshot.
     
    Shhh and McLabia like this.
  5. red66charger

    red66charger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    378

    I think I have a better shot attempting brain surgery...
     
  6. dyezak

    dyezak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    57
    If those directions are difficult...I don't want you operating on MY brain...;)
     
    McLabia likes this.
  7. gsxrjohnny

    gsxrjohnny Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3

    Is there a Sync tool for Mac?
     
  8. Nor*Cal

    Nor*Cal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    That was funny...

    I think I would just take a picture of the screen with my digital camera. A lot easier.
     
  9. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    336
    it looks a lot harder than it really it.
    we had to do the same thing with the droid X for the first week (or couple weeks, I cant remember) until we had root
    if you plan on rooting or running any roms in the future it may not be a bad idea to start getting used to android sdk now and adb now anyway lol
     
  10. asad126

    asad126 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Press your power lock button and your home button at the same time
     
  11. brtnygrn

    brtnygrn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    5
  12. metropolitim

    metropolitim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's how it works on iPhone, one of the very, very, very few things I miss about it. It slays me how much harder it is to do screenshots with the Tbolt...which I otherwise really love. Not that it's brain surgery, especially with the No Root version of Screenshot It, but no way it should require so many steps.

    Or am I missing something and you really CAN press two buttons at the same time and be done with it? I tried just for grins and it didn't work.....:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...