1. Hot New Devices! HTC One M9 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | LG G4

How do I take a picture of my screen?Support

1. cm123

cm123 Member

so i am completely new to this. the TB is my first smartphone and i figured out the basics, but still stuck on a few things. i've read in this forum on how to do screenshots, but i don't understand how to download and do all that (it's like reading a foreign language to me, even tho i've been trying to keep up with all your great info in these forums). isn't there a way just to take a picture of my screen with the phone itself? thanks in advance :)

Advertisement
  2. fillyo

fillyo Well-Known Member

Most screen shot apps require root. You can through ADB, but I can't help you there!
  3. cm123

cm123 Member

what's ADB?
  4. dyezak

dyezak Well-Known Member

Your question prompted me to figure this out. I got it working, so here goes:

1. Download Android's SDK - HERE
    2. Unzip the SDK to the root of C:
    3. Download the HTC Sync tool - HERE
    4. Install the HTC Sync tool (you really only have to install the pre-requisites). This installs the T-Bolt ADB drivers.
    5. Prep your phone for an ADB connection.
    6. Go To Menu>Settings>Applications>Development and check the "USB Debugging" option
    7. Connect your phone to your computer via USB
    8. Launch a command prompt
    9. CD over to c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\ and run ddms.bat
    10. Now in the java window that pops up select your phone
    11. Go to Device>Screen Capture

There is your screenshot.
    Shhh and McLabia like this.
  5. red66charger

red66charger Well-Known Member

I think I have a better shot attempting brain surgery...
  6. dyezak

dyezak Well-Known Member

If those directions are difficult...I don't want you operating on MY brain...;)
    McLabia likes this.
  7. gsxrjohnny

gsxrjohnny Active Member

Is there a Sync tool for Mac?
  8. Nor*Cal

Nor*Cal Well-Known Member

That was funny...