how do i update?


Last Updated:

  1. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so i got my android phone about 3 weeks ago and im still a noob to the android os. Now i am on t mobile and do not have a data plan for my account. One day my phone was updating to the 2.2 update (over wifi i guessed) and i didnt realize it. I went out to the store and when i was walking i saw my phone was downloading the update. I guess the update stopped cuz i left my wifi connection but my phone is on 2.1 and i dont know how to update to 2.2.

    any help appreciated,
    Austin
     

    Advertisement
  2. colin4unow

    colin4unow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Austin.
    On my Android phone I go to settings, then about phone. then Software Update, then update now..... hope this helps.... Colin
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Welcome to Android Forums, Austin. :)

    Have you rebooted (turned off then back on) since that update? Be sure to do that as a last step in the update process.
     
  4. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i go to about phoneb t doesnt have a software update option.

    Thanks :) and i did reboot my phone but the update never finished because I was disconnected from my wifi network and I have my phone set so it doesn't connect to t mobiles mobile network when im not on wifi
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    If I were in that situation, I'd go straight to a T-Mobile store and tell them what happened so that a tech could run the update there.
     
  6. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would t mobile look at it even if i didnt buy it from them?
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yipe, I failed to take note of that, Austin. Sorry..

    I doubt if they would, even though they are your carrier. However, it would not hurt to ask them for their help, as they know you'll likely get your next device from them.
     
  8. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, well if they dont help is there any way of manually updating?
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    What Android device are you wanting to update?

    Generally, as pointed out a few posts back, you can find an update function in the menu. You said it has no such function, so the carrier is usually the one to do that for a user who is having trouble updating.

    A long shot would be to use the "checkin" service (a very long shot, as that service is generally for app updates, but there are some reports of it detecting OTA updates).

    Use your dialer: *#*#checkin#*#* do NOT press "send" or "call," just wait for notification bar confirmation, it will say, "checkin successfull," then wait for another minute or so.
     
  10. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im trying to update my HTC MyTouch 3G Slide. I tried that code but it did nothing. Am i supposed to type in the word checkin or do i just use the numbers?
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    The letters in the word correspond to numbers.. just use your dialer to enter the letters, that inputs the numbers.
     
  12. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. I did that and after i type in the last * the whole code gets deleted from my dialer and nothing happens
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Well, as I mentioned, it was a long shot.

    The normal course of action in these situations is to have a service tech at the user's carrier look at the phone.

    But you say you did not get it there. I think it is worth a try anyway.

    By the way, where did you get the phone?
     
  14. Rotary

    Rotary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    wait!! t-mobile released the update already?
     
  15. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol i got it from a pawn shop down the street. I was originally gonna get an iphone 3GS. I emailed this pawn shop asking if they had an iphone. The guy said he didnt but he had this htc mytouch slide and it was brand new so i just went with that for 220
     
  16. Rmattar23

    Rmattar23 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys. my htc incredible was rooted and when i did finally get the notification to get the ota update, i started to download it but it didnt work cause i was rooted. Now after i unrooted, the ota update doesnt show up. what should i do guys? i really want the update and the manual updating isnt working for me.
     
  17. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Oh.. well, I've acquired a few things from pawn shops in my life.. but never a smartphone.

    Anyway.. if you have a contract with your carrier, perhaps you can talk to a store rep about the issues with the device and persuade them to run the update for you or to at least try to remedy your situation in some way.
     
  18. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I don't have a contract. But ill stop in anyway and give it a try
     
  19. Solidis

    Solidis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm maybe you should get the data plan im prety sure if there is an update u'll get in no time..
     
  20. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Good.

    And as Solidis says, signing up for a data plan will very likely motivate them to help you in any way they can. ;)
     
  21. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was planning on upgrading in the future. Well I make about 110 bucks a week so I should be able to afford 70 bucks a month with the data plan
     
  22. Austin2048

    Austin2048 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so the other night i took my phone to t mobile. They guy that looked at my phone looked like he had no idea what he was doing. He tried to open up ESPN's mobile site, then told me i couldnt upgrade cuz i dont have a data plan then he told me the update isnt even out yet. I dont know if thats true or if he just said that cuz i got to the store 20 minutes before closing
     
  23. airdog2k4

    airdog2k4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Android Forums my name Is airdog2k4 and im new to the site. I have had my Samsung Capitivate carrier by AT&T bout a couple of months now and my question How do I update to the Android 2.2 and I was wondering do anybody have a problem syncing Facebook Contacts wit the Android contacts.
     
  24. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Hey airdog2k4!!

    Welcome dude to the forums!

    Hmm, if you want there may be an unofficial update but this can be riddled with problems....but try updating normally first to see what happens :)

    Settings------>About Phone---------->Sysytem Software Updates......you shud be calll after that aye?

    For Rmattar23.... try re-installing the OS here then do normal OTA:

    http://shipped-roms.com/shipped/Incredible/

    Hope this helps dudes

    Stinky Stinky
     
  25. johng

    johng New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have a Motorola Droid and I just got a message saying the 2.2 update was here. I go into Setting>About Phone>Updates or whatever and it's there. But whenever I click the "Download" but it says "downloading" for like half a second and then stops. I've tried rebooting but it doesn't seem to change anything. Also to top it off my Home button isn't working anymore for some reason. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...