How do you assign a custom ringtone to a contact?Support


Last Updated:

  1. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    103
    I can't find the option to assign ringtones to contacts. I am super-tired so please forgive me if this is really obvious and I'm missing it! TIA! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    1. Go to contacts
    2. Click the contact
    3. Hit menu
    4. Options
    5. Default ringtone--custom ringtone

    Im super tired as i post this....hopefully that makes sense. lol
     
  3. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    The above only works though if you make a contact on the phone itself. If you're just running Google contacts then you can't have a custom ringtone. The way to get around this is to make a contact on the phone as well, but you don't have to put any info in, just link it to your Google contact. Name it the same as the google contact and you'll be all set.
     
    joaoesquecido and IamReady like this.
  4. Spotmark

    Spotmark Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    WTF kind of BS is that? Now I have to make a bunch of duplicate contacts? Give me break.
     
  5. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    103

    Ohhh, so I wasn't completely losing it! :) Thanks, this helped.
     
  6. BigDaddy Rob

    BigDaddy Rob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you give a contact a "silent" ringtone? I didn't see it in the list of ringtones.
     
  7. StephR210

    StephR210 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about a ringtone that we saved to our phone?
     
  8. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Same thing. Find it wherever its saved either in your my files or the gallery and then just hit menu and set
     
  9. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Yeah it is kind of stupid isn't it. it doesn't show up has a dup in the contact list though so its not too stupid just a little stupid.
     
  10. fascinoid

    fascinoid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i figured this out so people know when you have google contacts you can not add a custom ringtone , we all know this .... and everyone says you have to make another contact under your phone not google. which is true all you have to do is click on create contact. and put the name in the same as your google contact you are trying to set a personal ringtone for which was stated earlier in this thread .... now i believe what everyone is thinking is i gotta have multiple contacts so your contact list would look like
    davey - google
    davey - google
    etc...

    but it actually puts it directly in your contact so you will only have one "davey" in your list cause it links itself automatically

    i hope that explanation helps
     
  11. blackbrolly

    blackbrolly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ringdroid assigns custom ringtones. Thats what i use. No problems here ^_^
     
  12. Kod1ak

    Kod1ak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    12
    Go to contacts. Select your contact. Click on the pencil icon...not the settings icon. At the bottom it has a section for Ringtones. That's it...as simple as that.
     
  13. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    103
    You do realize this post was from 2010, right? ;)
     
  14. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,917
    It is still very valid for one who is still using a Fascinate.... that is what is so good about forums... the info lasts forever.
     
  15. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    103
    There are people out there who are still using a Fascinate?! :p Kidding of course. I just didn't think that the method was the same due to a different software version, but my Fascinate was stolen long ago so I have no idea what version it's on.
     
  16. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    3,727
    I'd use mine if I still had it from years ago :p lol

    The method should be universal for any android version :thumbup:
     
    nunyabizness likes this.
  17. nunyabizness

    nunyabizness Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    103
    LOL, so would I! I loved that phone. I had to make do with a Blackberry for awhile afterward. :eek: It was laying on my desk and I went in another room to use the copier and some vagrant walked in and snatched it. Boss was supposed to file an insurance claim but she never did. Bitch. :D
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  18. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    3,727
    I had the captivate (AT&T version), same phone though, loved it. Used it for just about 3 years until it finally died on me. Moved up to the s2/s3 from there :p
     
  19. amber stephens

    amber stephens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    All u gotta do is select the contact, then go to edit pencil, then when on contact edit page go to ad another field n select ringtone n choose from ringtones or local music n choose what one for a song u downloaded to Google music u either have to cut song for custom ringtone or choose what song u want for custom ringtone
     

Share This Page

Loading...