1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How Do You Exit The Stock Browser?


Last Updated:

  1. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've been using Dolphin HD for a long time but lately it's been really slow. I switched to the stock browser and it seems like it's twice as fast as Dolphin. Although I like the bells and whistles on Dolphin, I'll choose a fast browser over that any day.

    My question is... what is the correct way to exit the stock browser? I don't want it running in the background. I don't want to get a task killer cause I've heard horror stories about them. I don't want to go into the browser settings each time and erase the cache and whatever every time I want to exit the browser.

    Is there an easy way to exit the browser and make sure it's actually closed?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Just hit the Back or Home key. thats how you exit anything in Android. It will stay in the background after you exit it, but it's just cached and not using any battery.
     
  3. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, Thanks! I just won't worry about it then.
     
  4. froydao

    froydao Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The correct way is to hit the Back key, not the Home key. In Android Back is the correct way of exiting of an application. Home is just used for "multitasking" purposes.
     
  5. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    85
    Yup. I just wish the stock browser had an Exit function though. Surf a lot of pages and you spend a while repeatedly tapping Back (that or create a new window, delete the first, then back out from the new window).

    If you use the Home button it just gets moved to the background, and over a few days you wind up filling up a significant amount of memory with all the cached pages in the browser history.
     
  6. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Yes, but with the browser, the back button doesnt exit the app, it just keeps going back to the last webpage you visited.

    If you read up on Android and task killers, you would realize that its not using any battery or cpu by being in the background. The OS just keeps it there in case you open it back up. Its not actually running, and if the memory gets full, the OS will close it or something else to free up memory.
     
  7. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    If it bothers you to have it running in the background and you don't want to back up through every screen you have viewed, there is a shortcut. Go to menu and select windows. Close the window you are in. It will bring you back to the first page you viewed. Then you can hit the back button once and you have exited the browser.
     
  8. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    85
    In most cases yes that is true... Not true with the stock browser though. The stock browser is never killed by the OS. I made no mention of CPU or Battery, as that isn't an issue. Merely eating memory.
     
  9. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    If you want lightning-fast surfing, try Opera Mini. It is amazingly fast. It's my default browser.
     
  10. darkcyber

    darkcyber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    151
    So, basically the answer to this question you cannot exit out kfhe browser? I really find that annoying. I want to be able to exit out and it start each time I open it on my home page, not that last page viewed. I to have been having to back out of a to. Of web pages to finally get out of it...hate that.
     
  11. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Full memory in Android is not a bad thing.

    I'm still on 2.1 and can use Watchdog Lite to kill misbehaving apps. I don't use the stock browser tho as I think its too slow. If the browser is not overusing CPU, you really don't need to kill it.
     
  12. wmm

    wmm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    30
    You can short-circuit retracing your whole history by using the Menu->Windows command to bring up all your windows, then close each one with the "x". When you close the last one, the browser will open your home page and a "Back" from there closes the browser.
     
  13. craigb87

    craigb87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    IMO I don't think it's worth worrying about. It's not going to seriously effect the way your phone works, if it doesn't clear the cache by hitting the home button just clear it every now and then manage applications. You don't need it clearing every time you exit. I use opera mini too and have done for years on various phones. It's always seemed the fastest to me
     
  14. tcope

    tcope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    20
    The BIG problem is when you click a link from your mail reader. There is no good way to get back to your email reader. Your only way is to keep hitting the back key until you exit or the Home key and then bring up the email reader again.

    EVERY APP SHOULD HAVE A QUIT OR EXIT OPTIONS!

    Developers... read that again!
     
  15. NorthRiding

    NorthRiding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know you said Opera Mini but just looked on the market and there is Opera Mini and Opera Mobile.
    Which is the one to choose? Can't see the difference except that one of them appears to be a "beta"??
    The mobile is the beta and I am going to give it a try......................

    Poor start - it just locked on the opening splash page "Opera Mini". Have reported it faulty and will attempt re-install. (If that doesn't work) I will go to Mini.



    Yep, got it loaded. Will give it a try and see if it is ok.

    Nope - Didn't like either of the Opera's.
    Not as quick as the stock browser and certainly less responsive to zoom etc.
    Gone back to stock. Nothing wrong with the standard browser in my opinion.
    Sorry Opera, I found you great before on other phone (and on laptop) but a bit disappointed.
     
  16. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I use Smart Taskbar, which gives me access to running apps or any app, even in app, easily.

    I disagree. Easier to just depend on Android to close apps when needed. Cached apps makes it faster to reopen an app and uses less battery when doing so.
     
  17. wmm

    wmm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    30
    As I said above, this is not true. You can simply close the window from the Windows menu command, then hit "back" once. You'll be back in the mail reader without backing up through all the pages you've visited.
     
  18. barqers

    barqers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    72
    I agree. Every app should have an exit button. Menu->Exit should be common in ALL programs.
     
  19. wgianopoulos

    wgianopoulos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Samsung galaxy Tab and the ONLY way I have found to exit the browser is via the Task Manager and killing the application. All of the methods discussed previously result in it STILL showing as an active application int he Task Manger to me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...