How do you guys confirm if SetCPU is working right?


Last Updated:

  1. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    I have "screen off" set to 384/245

    My screen was "off" for a long time last night, and now im looking at the monitors and it doesn't appear to show any decrease in my processor.

    384 to 998 is quite a difference, i would imagine it would be easy to spot when it was sitting at 384 for several hours in the night.

    Here is an 8hr, 1day, and 3day chart
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    CPU activity != CPU Clock. It's just the % of the CPU being utilized at that moment. For comparison, I'd have to assume if you were clocked @ 384 while using the device, you'd see a constant CPU activity of 100%.

    Your battery usage is similar to mine, and I also clock down to 384 when the screen is off, so we get almost 0% battery usage while it's off.
     
    howarmat likes this.
  3. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    Ok gotcha

    But I did lose I think 15-20% overnight while on wifi is that typical for you?
     
  4. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    It really depends what you have running in the background. And obviously no 2 phones will see the same results.

    As far as weather or not setcpu is working.... Which kernel are you using? Are you overclocking at all?
     
  5. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    I dont think i have much of anything running, except gmail sync on 2 accounts.

    Im on SkyRaider3.3.2 with HTC .17 kernal
     
  6. Smabbage

    Smabbage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    24
    Will SetCPU work with a stock Sense rooted ROM?
     
  7. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    If it's rooted, yes.

    And WiFi tends to hurt the battery.
     
    Smabbage likes this.
  8. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    You can't uc/oc a stock kernel.
     
  9. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    I never knew that!!

    So if i plan to let my phone sit for an extended period of time, im better off not connecting it to wifi?

    Also i have "wifi never sleep", should i let it sleep?
     
  10. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    that is completely incorrect. wifi should save a great deal of battery over the normal 3G signal from VZW
     
    rsarno likes this.
  11. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Yeah, wifi is generally a good deal easier on the battery than 3g is.
     
  12. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    Well, I charge overnight, so idk. The last time I forgot to charge it overnight, I think I lost about 25%.
     
  13. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145
    does anyone know of a good thread explaining how in the hell to use setcpu? I just rooted my phone today and I'm still learning :p

    also, I haven't installed any kernels, just the redemption revolution rom. what exactly is a kernel?

    any other good root apps i should know about?
     
  14. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    SetCPU for Root Users
     
    tommy_ed likes this.
  15. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145
    sweeeeet thanks again man! it doesn't say anything about overclocking in there, do i have to install a kernel for that?
     
  16. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    You can use the unlock performance lock (perflock) option in setCPU. This will not allow you to overclock but it will let you underclock. To overclock you will have to install a kernel.
     
    Smabbage likes this.
  17. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    60
    I keep hearing this, but THIS is completely untrue for me. I've tested leaving WiFi on overnight several times at my house and lost ~20% MORE battery than leaving it off.
     
  18. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    you have settings wrong on your phone or the router probably.
     
  19. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    It could be what howarmat said, or it could be that you have an app hitting the wifi unnecessarily. I leave wifi on all the time and last night I think my phone dropped 7% over a period of about 9 hours.
     
  20. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    isn't it possible to have wifi on AND 3G? if you have wifi constantly scanning but not connecting to anything, AND 3G connected, you might see poor battery life. If you ahve wifi connected to your router, and 3G turned off, you should have good battery life.

    I'm not sure if that's even possible but if it is, it makes sense to me!
     
  21. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Regarding wifi being on but unconnected and 3g being connected, it can pull some power, yes. If you are connected to your router with your wifi, your 3g shuts down automatically even if you have it turned on. Some roms will allow the 3g to come up long enough to send an MMS even if the wifi is connected.
     
  22. trevolution23

    trevolution23 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had wi fi on for the first time over night(slepping) and over a 6 hour period my battery dropped 3%!!! I was shocked because I didnt charge it the other night and had 23% left and thought I could make it to the am, but I woke up to a dead phone. A big difference...now I use tasker to do it automatically.
     
  23. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    What are you using Tasker for?

    I have Y5 to automate WiFi based on GPS, are you using Tasker to eliminate the need for Y5?
     
  24. msjulie

    msjulie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9

    If your phone is rooted, setCPU can most certainly change the clock speed/rate. You have to disable perflock (the most recent versions 2.0.3 or 2.0.4) will enable on boot and 2.0.4 works on the leaked stock HTC kernel as well.

    You can prove it's working, after disabling perflock, by sliding the 'max' bar and watching the MHz change.

    Been there, done that, stock phone rooted and now 'stock' phone rooted with updated kernel (just today, testing)

    Just remember, phone needs to be rooted but otherwise stock is fine
     
  25. DizkoDan

    DizkoDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    86
    I should have clarified that you could not (at that time) uc/oc the 2.6.32.17 stock kernel. As of setPCU 2.04 (released this week) you can. By default, you cannot disable perflock on a stock kernel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...